1. oldum77

    OP oldum77 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Let's get right to the point. I have an RGH modded Xbox 360 Slim (Trinity) and I've been fooling around with it and having a blast. Oblivion worked like a charm for a while now, but all of a sudden, it stopped working. All other Xbox 360 games I have work like a charm, but not this one.

    What happens is when I load up the disc version, I cannot even get past the initial splash screens to the title screen. It just freezes when the title screen should load and hangs on a black screen. No music.
    I saved a copy to the hard drive beforehand. I decided to clear the cache, as users online suggested it for Oblivion. Before I cleared the cache, not even the downloaded copy worked past the splash screens, much like the disc version. When I load it up after clearing the cache, it can get past the splash screens to the title screen. From there, I can select menu options and stuff, but when I open a previous save OR start a new game, it freezes on the title screen menu. The music does change.

    Now, I believe this can be narrowed down to two reasons. One, I was messing around using Xell Reloaded to launch Ubuntu. Or the more probable one, is that I was messing around installing custom packages containing PC mods. They did work, and I'm willing to bet that the mods caused the issues, but how to fix it is another question entirely. I've tried everything I could possibly think of and I'm getting a tad frustrated trying to fix it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. cPix

    cPix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Norway
    I have the same problem, and i haven't messed around with much, just copied content to the HDD and so on. Some times i get to the Oblivion screen, and hit "new" choose where to put save games, and then it freezes, sometimes it freezes before thtitle screen, and i just see bethseda and the trademark-stuff and then it freezes. Have no clue why this is happening. This is also on a RGH box.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2019
  3. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,686
    Country:
    United States
    it could be the game. did you get an iso, then decrypt the game as a jtag rip or god? if one didn't work, try the other. I don't own that game to test, but typically when something goes wrong, the game will crash with a fatal crash intercepted error. with dashlaunch, you can tell it to kick you out of the game or freeze (iirc). I haven't seen the error in quite some time on my system, so I'm basing this on memory. change the dashlaunch option to make the game crash instead of freeze. I can't really remember if it's supposed to freeze or shutdown the system as an alternative to the game just kicking you out.
     
  4. cPix

    cPix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Norway
    I have tried iso2god and 360mpgui to extra both dvds. seems to be the same issue, any way i try to start that game
     
  5. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    Mine loads fine on my RGH. Have you messed with any title updates? Also is it standard or GOTY edition? - messing with xell etc won’t have impact. Just yesterday I loaded 3D ultra mini golf. Crashed first time. Loaded it again, worked fine.
     
  6. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,686
    Country:
    United States
    it could be an issue with dashlaunch. do you have that installed? it's two discs on the 360? do you have it setup to automatically swap discs? if one of the discs is just dlc, you might be able to just extract that part out of the launcher. I've heard that not all games will allow this, but a lot of them will. what I mean is there might a content folder on the dlc disc, which you can just dump in the right folder. there's no need to "install then." if it's two discs, it kinda sounds like the goty version.

    edit: btw, with dashlaunch, try changing the setting for what to do when a game crashes. then, you'll know if it's the game.
     
  7. cPix

    cPix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Norway
    it's the GOTY edition, have not done anything with titles
     
  8. jellybeangreen2

    jellybeangreen2 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    Backup your save. Delete the game using file manager. Install to HDD from disk or obtain elsewhere. Load game without disk to ensure it is loading off HDD. If that works, check your save. if that works. then add DLC. if then it works great.
     
  9. cPix

    cPix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Norway
    Tried the one disc oblivion, exact same issues, deleted the old one, it freezes when i try to start a new game
     
  10. oldum77

    OP oldum77 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, so my copy of Oblivion is an original one, that still has the T rating on it. No GOTY edition. I did purchase the Wizard's Tower DLC, however. I attempted to remove all content relating to the game to an external USB device and tried loading again. The same results happened. And yes, I did attempt it more than once to the same avail.

    Also, my copy does not say "Fatal Crash Intercepted," but instead hangs on a black screen. Until I switch the console off.

    EDIT: Editing Dashlaunch's settings does have an effect, actually! When I set the option "fatalreboot" to enabled, pressing the power button when the game froze performed a hard reset. This is as far as I've gotten.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2019
  11. cPix

    cPix Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Norway
    Somebody sent me the GOTY edition originals yesterday, will see if the original discs will give the exact same issues
     
  12. oldum77

    OP oldum77 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Umm... still not working. I'm getting really frustrated with trying to fix it.
     
  13. oldum77

    OP oldum77 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, so an update here. I've started it up after removing all of my save files, all DLC, and all modded packages, and it still freezes on selecting a new game. I have another, non-modded Xbox 360. I tried loading the disc on that one, and it works fine. It seems to me it's more than likely a cache problem.
    I went to the system menu, then to storage devices and pressed Y on the hard drive. I selected Clear Cache and it did so. However, it still freezes upon selecting a new game! Any suggestions?

    EDIT: I removed all storage devices from the console and launched it through the disc. It worked flawlessly. Now I definitely know it is a cache issue. I've seen online that holding A after launching the game will clear Oblivion's cache specifically, but it didn't seem to work. It crashed yet again. Is there some specific cache folder I'd need to delete using Aurora?
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  14. oldum77

    OP oldum77 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Canada
    Welp, seems like the issue was simply the fact that I didn't turn on the title update in Aurora's settings. Switching it on fixed all of my issues and now the game runs perfectly again.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Oblivion, Scrolls, Issues