System doesn't recognize single game card

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by sonsofbatman, Jun 9, 2017.

  1. sonsofbatman
    OP

    sonsofbatman Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2017
    United States
    I picked up a game about a year ago and set up CFW only a couple of months ago. I finished a previous game in the series and tried to start playing the other one today but it wasn't recognized. Instead, there was no change except for the "There is nothing inserted into the Game Card slot" text started flashing. Other than that, there's nothing different. The game is recognized on GodMode9 and seems to have no files missing in comparison with other games.
     
  2. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek

    Member
    315
    150
    Jan 31, 2009
    United States
    Is it a 3DS game card or DS?

    I ordered a game off of the Amazon Marketplace once, and the seller sent me a bootleg copy. Worked when I had my DS, but it won't run in my 3DS.
    It's not your typical DS flashcart either, no microSD card slot or anything like that. Was really weird.
     
  3. sonsofbatman
    OP

    sonsofbatman Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2017
    United States
    It's a 3ds card, but I forgot to say that it worked when I first got it. That was the only time I had tested it.
     
  4. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek

    Member
    315
    150
    Jan 31, 2009
    United States
    Which game? Can you see if it works in another 3DS (like a friend's)? Never heard of something like this before, unless you've been messing around with twl_firm.
     
  5. sonsofbatman
    OP

    sonsofbatman Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2017
    United States
    Bravely Second
    Not really as none of my friends have a 3ds.
    I think I installed a clean version at some point, but that's it.
     
  6. GizmoTheGreen

    GizmoTheGreen GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    416
    113
    Oct 8, 2009
    is the game same region as your 3DS?
    tried popping it in and out some?
    other 3ds carts still read right? check if there's any corrosion on the 3DS cart.
     
  7. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek

    Member
    315
    150
    Jan 31, 2009
    United States
    Get new friends :P
     
  8. sonsofbatman
    OP

    sonsofbatman Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2017
    United States
    It's the same region, I've tried multiple times with it, other cards are working, and there's no visible corrosion.
     
  9. Biff627

    Biff627 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,070
    386
    Aug 15, 2015
    United States
    You could always try the old trick where you use a folded piece of paper to hold the card more towards the contacts. Had to do that with one of my DS flashcards. No harm in trying

    Edit- why do I skim through things lol. I see that godmode sees the card... hmm that is weird.
     
    Last edited by Biff627, Jun 9, 2017
  10. sonsofbatman
    OP

    sonsofbatman Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2017
    United States
    Found something that's kind of interesting. When running the Homebrew Launcher, it freezes every second or so with cartridge in. Without it, it's perfectly fine. This might have something to so with the "There is nothing inserted into the Game Card slot" text flashing. It looks to me as if the system is finding something but then it disappears immediately.
     
  11. GizmoTheGreen

    GizmoTheGreen GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    416
    113
    Oct 8, 2009
    can you dump the cart with godmode9? maybe godmode9 doesn't try to read as much as homemenu, and the cart is damaged somehow. anyway yeah you could also shim in a piece of paper on the label side to put more pressure on the pins for better connection. this could ruin your pins inside the 3ds though, bending them and preventing good contact with all games so be careful.
     
  12. sonsofbatman
    OP

    sonsofbatman Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2017
    United States
    Don't think there's a dump function on godmode9, at least not one that I saw. I tried the paper trick and it failed for me.
    Edit: Just tried building a CIA from the files on there and it failed.
     
    Last edited by sonsofbatman, Jun 9, 2017
  13. Ammako

    Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    6,424
    3,546
    Dec 22, 2009
    Canada
    There doesn't have to be. Get whatever cleaning solution people may recommend for cleaning electronics' contacts, put some of that on a q-tip, rub it along the contacts (it should be able to reach in despite the grooves.)

    Another thing worth mentioning is that graphite is a very good conductor when it comes to electronics. A pencil can do the trick as well, though if you can, I'd recommend going with cleaning as normal before you try that (I'd just use up the tip a bit to blunt it first, in case graphite might be a hard enough material to scratch the contacts. Wouldnt want to be using a freshly sharpened pencil then.)
     
  14. sonsofbatman
    OP

    sonsofbatman Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2017
    United States
    I already tried using rubbing alcohol and a q-tip, but that didn't work for me. I'll try the pencil thing now that I know.
     
  15. HugaTheFox

    HugaTheFox GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    574
    139
    Feb 11, 2017
    United States
    Las Vegas
    That means that the Gameslot does have a problem. Try all the methods (even the paper one) and if all fails, you need to get it repaired
     
  16. GizmoTheGreen

    GizmoTheGreen GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    416
    113
    Oct 8, 2009
    but he said other games work so I would say it's the card thats broken rather than the slot.
     
    bakageta likes this.
  17. HugaTheFox

    HugaTheFox GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    574
    139
    Feb 11, 2017
    United States
    Las Vegas
    Oh, sorry. I didn't see that part.