Homebrew Question SX OS Breaks Emulation?

Breembin

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I'm still relatively new to using Hombrew on Switch (and Nintendo consoles in general), so this may be a stupid question. I've been using Hekate for about a week now, and decided to try SX OS (no license).

My emulators seem to soft lock the console, and I have to do a hard reboot. So far, the only ones I've tested are SNES9x and VBA-Next. SNES9x crashes on startup, while VBA lets me browse the menu before it crashes when selecting a game.

For now I've gone back to Hekate, but I was wondering if you people have had this issue, and if there was a solution. Thank you!

xiaNaix

Trophies
Website
xiaNaix.net
XP
Country
United States
There is currently no solution. From what I understand, the emulators were compiled with old 3.x.x. firmware libraries because that was the version the homebrew launchers used . They will need to be recompiled with newer libs for SX OS since things changed with 5.x.x

m4xw

Ancient Deity
Developer
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
There is currently no solution. From what I understand, the emulators were compiled with old 3.x.x. firmware libraries because that was the version the homebrew launchers used . They will need to be recompiled with newer libs for SX OS since things changed with 5.x.x

No, they only have a broken hbloader

(My up2date ports have the same problems)

Last edited by m4xw,

Breembin

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States

But I'm on the latest version of Horizon, which is 5.1.0 (I think?), and with Hekate, all emulators still work.

Breembin

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
No, they only have a broken hbloader

(My up2date ports have the same problems)

So does this mean that they still theoretically work with SX? It's just HBMenu that's breaking the emulators?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------