Hacking Switch will not boot

Kevin Beam

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
300
Country
Canada
I was upgrading SX OS today to the latest version and was also going to update to the latest firmware (9.0.0). I made the mistake of taking the memory card out before shutting down and I got an error saying the console needed to shut down. Since then I have not been able to get the Switch to turn on at all...have tried all buttons, used Tegra (sees the Switch, so I know it's not dead) I have booted into Hekate but that also doesn't get me anywhere. What can I do????
 

thesjaakspoiler

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2018
Messages
675
Trophies
0
Age
122
XP
920
Country
Afghanistan
If you can run hekate then at least your switch is not bricked so that is a good thing.

There is a chance that you wrecked the file system and some SXOS files with it on your SD card.
Nintendo's file system is a very fragile and doesn't handle sd cards ejecting while running very well.
(I've been there too .... =( )

I would suggest making a backup copy of it and reformat the SD card.
Copy the latest SXOS files to it and copy the Nintendo folder back onto it.

If this doesn't work, just try Atmosphere : https://switch.homebrew.guide/
 

Kevin Beam

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
300
Country
Canada
If you can run hekate then at least your switch is not bricked so that is a good thing.

There is a chance that you wrecked the file system and some SXOS files with it on your SD card.
Nintendo's file system is a very fragile and doesn't handle sd cards ejecting while running very well.
(I've been there too .... =( )

I would suggest making a backup copy of it and reformat the SD card.
Copy the latest SXOS files to it and copy the Nintendo folder back onto it.

If this doesn't work, just try Atmosphere : https://switch.homebrew.guide/


Thanks that is what I am currently doing.
 

Kevin Beam

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
300
Country
Canada
I copied and formatted memory card, pasted the contents back to the memory card, and still cannot boot into anything besides the normal Switch menu. Not sure what I should try now. Please help!
 

jajamundo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
1
XP
1,949
Country
United States
I copied and formatted memory card, pasted the contents back to the memory card, and still cannot boot into anything besides the normal Switch menu. Not sure what I should try now. Please help!

You hace emunand installed? If you can go through sysnand then you are safe. SX OS doesnt support latest switch version yet. Just wait for the upcoming update
 

Kevin Beam

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
300
Country
Canada
You hace emunand installed? If you can go through sysnand then you are safe. SX OS doesnt support latest switch version yet. Just wait for the upcoming update

Yes I do. However holding power and the volume button down (while the dongle is connected) does nothing. The dongle is charged..

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have to think something is corrupted on my memory card. Should I just wipe it and only add the needed files to start with?
 

Youkai

Demon
Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
2,516
Trophies
1
Age
35
Location
Germany , NRW
XP
2,176
Country
Germany
Yes I do. However holding power and the volume button down (while the dongle is connected) does nothing. The dongle is charged..

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have to think something is corrupted on my memory card. Should I just wipe it and only add the needed files to start with?

Well there are some "official" statements by Nintendo about holding power for 12 seconds adding the controler and leave the console for 10-20 minutes ....
Worked for me every time yet ...
 

jajamundo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
1
XP
1,949
Country
United States
Yes I do. However holding power and the volume button down (while the dongle is connected) does nothing. The dongle is charged..

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have to think something is corrupted on my memory card. Should I just wipe it and only add the needed files to start with?
Well if you think this, try using another SD Card. Copy and paste all your files to the new se card. If hoy have emunand installed as a hidden partition you need to backup the image. Now if it doesnt work then you got corrupted your SX files and probably you already lost everything and need to start all over again

Tell me if it works
 

Kevin Beam

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
300
Country
Canada
Well if you think this, try using another SD Card. Copy and paste all your files to the new se card. If hoy have emunand installed as a hidden partition you need to backup the image. Now if it doesnt work then you got corrupted your SX files and probably you already lost everything and need to start all over again

Tell me if it works

Sorry I'm not a newbie but I have little experience with it because it always ran smoothly until yesterday. What exactly do I need to do? I get the new memory card part (which shouldn't be needed as I already took everything off and formatted it). But the rest I'm not sure about.

Previously I was able to go into RCM mode (my PC saw it) and I was able to inject it. Now my PC does not see it and when I have the jig installed and the side price (can't remember what's it called). I get nothing but blackness.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If I do start over, do I just copy the basic os ox items to a memory card and go from there?
 

jajamundo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
1
XP
1,949
Country
United States
Sorry I'm not a newbie but I have little experience with it because it always ran smoothly until yesterday. What exactly do I need to do? I get the new memory card part (which shouldn't be needed as I already took everything off and formatted it). But the rest I'm not sure about.

Previously I was able to go into RCM mode (my PC saw it) and I was able to inject it. Now my PC does not see it and when I have the jig installed and the side price (can't remember what's it called). I get nothing but blackness.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

If I do start over, do I just copy the basic os ox items to a memory card and go from there?


First make a backup of all your files on your SD Card. If you have emunand as hiddepn partition, you need to create an image of your SD Card. I recommend to you to format the SD Card and try all over again

If your sysNand is on 9.0.0, then you have to wait until SXOS update.

If you are under 9.0.0 try creating again your emunand. If you have backups of your saves, then just restore
 

Kevin Beam

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
300
Country
Canada
First make a backup of all your files on your SD Card. If you have emunand as hiddepn partition, you need to create an image of your SD Card. I recommend to you to format the SD Card and try all over again

If your sysNand is on 9.0.0, then you have to wait until SXOS update.

If you are under 9.0.0 try creating again your emunand. If you have backups of your saves, then just restore

I am on 8.1. when you say create emunand I'm not sure what you mean.
 

jajamundo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
1
XP
1,949
Country
United States
I am on 8.1. when you say create emunand I'm not sure what you mean.

Emunand is an exact copy of your sysnand. Is the best option to have if you are hacking stuffs, but it takes 32GB of space on your SD Card.

Mmm just try download again the boot.dat from SX OS Website. Format your SD Card. Boot to SX OS Menu and then boot to CFW
 

Kevin Beam

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
300
Country
Canada
Emunand is an exact copy of your sysnand. Is the best option to have if you are hacking stuffs, but it takes 32GB of space on your SD Card.

Mmm just try download again the boot.dat from SX OS Website. Format your SD Card. Boot to SX OS Menu and then boot to CFW

I have made backups previously using chodoir or whatever it's called. Just not sure how to access them at this point.
 

jajamundo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
1
XP
1,949
Country
United States
I have made backups previously using chodoir or whatever it's called. Just not sure how to access them at this point.

Mmm chodourix or whatever is called is for update your firmware, not to backup your Nand. Just backup all of your content on your SD Card and install all over again
 

fringle

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
368
Trophies
1
XP
770
Country
Canada
The same thing happened to me. It seems that the emunand got corrupted. I ended up creating a new one from scratch and switching to atmosphere. I do have an non corrupted backup though for when SX does update.
 

Kevin Beam

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
43
Trophies
0
Age
46
XP
300
Country
Canada
Mmm chodourix or whatever is called is for update your firmware, not to backup your Nand. Just backup all of your content on your SD Card and install all over again

Sorry about the name. I have backed up before but cannot recall the software used.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Nah that's what gets them the award
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    These iPads deserve to be trashed.
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Maybe only old senoirs would have loved to hear noisy kids
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    But then again, I see kids as a health hazza

    rd
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Their ears would have troubles hearing their loud screeches that they can sleep in peace.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @ZeroT21, They lack any common sense because their brain hasn't been fully developed.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    If old people learned how to use tablets more we might get them off the road :tpi:
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Anyways, I'm off for tonight. See you all later.
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Old people flip tables in anger :P
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I remember The Onion.
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    YOOO whats this
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    If anyone is here please help me with my wii
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ask nicer
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    bruh please im just tryna play mariokart
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Bruh
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    usb loader is taking forever to load
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    i just wanna play mario kart:cry:
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Make a thread in the Nintendo forums
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    um ok
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The chatbox is for chatting not everyone here knows how to solve your issue
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    Oh alright my bad
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Rip
    x65943 @ x65943: Rip