Hacking [Support] Help for users with a broken GW OoT exploit

Helper

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
136
Trophies
0
XP
227
Country
United States
I'm starting this thread in hopes of helping users who have 'done everything right' to be able to launch Gateway's Ocarina of Time gamesave exploit--but who encounter an error instead.

This isn't for those who cannot get a usable save loaded onto their Sky3DS/OoT card in the first place; for those issues, please see [HOWTO] Use OOT Exploit on SKY3DS/Non Working Carts.

If you feel you are a corner case--I'd be glad to try to assist you.


If you would like help, please provide as much of the following information as possible.
  • The model of your system; Original 3DS, New 3DS, or 2DS;
  • The firmware and region of your system; for example, "9.0.0-21J";
  • The type of Game Card you are trying to use; a retail OoT card, a Sky3DS, etc.;
  • Information about the (micro)SD card in your system; for example, "SanDisk 4GB Class 4".
  • Whether you have access to any other (micro)SD cards and, if so, information about those cards as well.
(This post will likely be updated over time.)
 
  • Like
Reactions: GaaraPrime

bobtheglob101

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Messages
204
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
258
Country
United States
I'll just carry my issue over to this thread. I was out for a little bit so I'll try to format my MicroSD card now.
Model: New 3DS
Firmware: 9.2.0-20J
Cart: Sky3DS
MicroSD: Samsung Evo 32gb

EDIT: Save from Duowan has corrected the issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

andre104623

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
679
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Philadelphia, PA
XP
346
Country
United States
N3ds 8.1J
Sky3ds Zelda Oot japan
Can see the save and load it but when zelda is in the Hut and I push A it just crashes the 3ds and reboots. I have done it over 30 times with 7 microsd cards two roms.

Working now Thank you
 
  • Like
Reactions: Margen67

Helper

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
136
Trophies
0
XP
227
Country
United States
Wow. I totally dropped the ball on this one. A friend was mauled by the family cat and I just got back from a four hour hospital wait.

N3ds 8.1J
Sky3ds Zelda Oot japan
Can see the save and load it but when zelda is in the Hut and I push A it just crashes the 3ds and reboots. I have done it over 30 times with 7 microsd cards two roms.

Working now Thank you
How did you fix it?
 

itsamario2015

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 4, 2015
Messages
37
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
28
Country
United States
I have now tried with 4 different micro SD cards, all getting the white screen failure. This exploit is ridiculous in how fickle it is to SD card speeds. I have tried class 2, 4, 8, and 10.

edit: after testing a multitude of different combinations, I have finally managed to boot GW menu using Sky3DS (OoT) class 4 card and N3DS (launcher.dat) class 10 card.
 

sniperseyes

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
146
Country
United States
Ok So, heres my issue I can run the exploit just fine, it goes to the gateway menu. I backed up sysnand and installed emundand.
However when it kicks me into the home menu, I cant use the rom selector by pressing select. Furthermore, I don't get GW3DS in the settings menu.

Model: New 3DS JP
Firmware: 8.1.0-0J
Cart: Retail OOT 3ds JP v1
MicroSD: standard nintendo 4gb one

I also have a few off brand micro SD cards from ebay, some sandisk 8gb class 10, and one 32gb class 10 sandisk

EDIT: I also noticed that once it kicks me to the menu, none of my JP retail games load and the 3d is broken. But still no rom menu
 

pikanag

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2013
Messages
249
Trophies
0
XP
303
Country
United States
N3ds 8.1J
Sky3ds Zelda Oot japan
Can see the save and load it but when zelda is in the Hut and I push A it just crashes the 3ds and reboots. I have done it over 30 times with 7 microsd cards two roms.

Working now Thank you

I have now tried with 4 different micro SD cards, all getting the white screen failure. This exploit is ridiculous in how fickle it is to SD card speeds. I have tried class 2, 4, 8, and 10.

edit: after testing a multitude of different combinations, I have finally managed to boot GW menu using Sky3DS (OoT) class 4 card and N3DS (launcher.dat) class 10 card.


which microsd card did you use in the sky3ds to get it to work?
 

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,002
Country
United States
Ok So, heres my issue I can run the exploit just fine, it goes to the gateway menu. I backed up sysnand and installed emundand.
However when it kicks me into the home menu, I cant use the rom selector by pressing select. Furthermore, I don't get GW3DS in the settings menu.

Model: New 3DS JP
Firmware: 8.1.0-0J
Cart: Retail OOT 3ds JP v1
MicroSD: standard nintendo 4gb one

I also have a few off brand micro SD cards from ebay, some sandisk 8gb class 10, and one 32gb class 10 sandisk

EDIT: I also noticed that once it kicks me to the menu, none of my JP retail games load and the 3d is broken. But still no rom menu


Once you boot into emunand hit select. If you go into settings and exit you will get kicked back to sysnand.
 

sniperseyes

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
146
Country
United States
Once you boot into emunand hit select. If you go into settings and exit you will get kicked back to sysnand.
That doesnt work, nad I know how emunand/sysnand work.

However I have figured out a solution to my woes.
Apparently the 8.1 emunand has a bug on n3ds that prevents me from launching
the rom menu. So what I did was create a folder to make sure Gateway puts me into
emunand and not just sysnand. I then unlinked my sysnand form emunand and then
booted into emunand and updated to the lates firmware.
I now get the rom menu and all my usa carts work fine on my JP console.
 

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,002
Country
United States
That doesnt work, nad I know how emunand/sysnand work.

However I have figured out a solution to my woes.
Apparently the 8.1 emunand has a bug on n3ds that prevents me from launching
the rom menu. So what I did was create a folder to make sure Gateway puts me into
emunand and not just sysnand. I then unlinked my sysnand form emunand and then
booted into emunand and updated to the lates firmware.
I now get the rom menu and all my usa carts work fine on my JP console.


That didn't make any sense to me, the whole "create a folder" fix, but hey whatever works man.
 

sniperseyes

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 11, 2011
Messages
46
Trophies
0
XP
146
Country
United States
That didn't make any sense to me, the whole "create a folder" fix, but hey whatever works man.
I meant I made a folder to make sure that Im in emunand (just so that I know I wasn't in sysnand) when the gateway booted me to the menu.
Sorry, Im very tired, didnt get much sleep last night.
 

Ekaitz

Redhead Believer
Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
608
Trophies
0
XP
441
Country
France
Well, I've got a small problem with my european Zelda OOT and my 3DS XL. (original one)

I recorded a small video to show you the problem: https://vid.me/fDgq
On the video, I restored the save provided by the Gateway Team.
The two others saves available on Gbatemp just give me a corrupted gamesave message...

I also tried to launch the exploit on an original 3DS with a different SD card. Same problem.
If someone got a solution...
Any help would be greatly appreciate :)
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Veho @ Veho: https://i.imgur.com/AuFG3Di.jpg