Stuck on Windows 7 Bootlogo screen

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by jonthedit, Mar 12, 2013.

Mar 12, 2013
  1. jonthedit
    OP

    Member jonthedit GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691
    Country:
    Bermuda
    This has happened before and I'm sick of this.
    It's not a big issue to restore using my acronis loader, but I'm desperate to try anything else as restoring takes about 8 hours.

    Basically :
    Installed MagicDisc, worked fine.
    Windows attempts to install the driver.... Keeps trying.... Never gave up...
    Had to shutdown computer...
    And bam! I assume that corrupted my inf files.

    So now I'm stuck on Starting Windows in both safe mode and normal boot.
    Startup repair didn't do shit as usual, despite 1 hr of waiting...


    Last time this happened with Intel's RST update that failed to install and screwed a lot of people over besides me...
    So anyway, suggestions?
    Repair install? Recovery Console? Anything?
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,560
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    A repair install will work, but a better solution is to simply boot the setup DVD, using the "Repair Your Computer" option to run a command prompt, and running "sfc /scannow /offbootdir=[DRIVELETTER]:\ /offwindir=[DRIVELETTER]:\windows" from the prompt. Replace [DRIVELETTER] with the drive letter of your windows install (could be different than what it is in windows). The easiest way to find the drive letter is to simply run "dir C:", "dir D:" and so on, and see which one contains the Windows directory.
     
    jonthedit likes this.
  3. jonthedit
    OP

    Member jonthedit GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Alright... So do I type that exactly as written?
    My selected "area" is X:\windows\system32.
    Do I use the cd command and set it to D: or D:\windows\system32?
    Specifics please
    [drive letter D is my windows folder]
    Note : I'm an idiot in command line


    Something I forgot:
    I am using the repair tools that are installed into Windows 7 Ultimate
    So basically the same tools you'd find on a install disc are in my "Startup Repair"'s advanced options.

    --
    Edit:
    Ran the command...
    "windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

    So... ****.

    I'm screwed right?
    Is there way I can get rid of the driver that messed everything up if I know what .cab it is?
     
  4. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,560
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    If you're sure you entered it right, including the /offbootdir and /offwindir parts, then it seems that's not the issue.

    If you can find out where the MagicDisc driver is located, you can delete it. That may solve your problem.
    I found info on google saying it is named mcdbus.inf (and probably a .cat and a .sys if you can find them, but deleting just the inf/sys should do the trick)
    Location: - C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository and C:\windows\inf
    The .inf should be under inf, and the .sys under FileRepository. There could also be a copy of the .sys under C:\Windows\System32\drivers
    Of course this will all have to be done using CD and DIR commands in the recovery console, and finally DEL to delete (make sure you don't delete the wrong file by accident...)

    You would be able to delete the files easier by downloading a Linux Live CD (any will work, as long as it's recent enough to be able to mount NTFS, but generally if it's been updated the past few years it'll work)

    Also, if you were installing this in order to mount ISOs, I suggest Daemon Tools. Never had a problem with it.
     
    jonthedit likes this.
  5. jonthedit
    OP

    Member jonthedit GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,691
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Thanks for the help, but I was an idiot and forgot a simple feature included with windows.
    Last Known Good Configuration.
    Solved the problem, got into windows, uninstalled driver, reinstalled. Problem solved.
    I feel like an idiot because I've had this issue numerous times... just to find out there's a simple fix.

    Thanks for the help anyway! +Thanks and Rep
     

Share This Page