Stuck on Restoring the Trucha bug

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shrimpkebab, Jan 2, 2010.

Jan 2, 2010
  1. shrimpkebab
    OP

    Newcomer shrimpkebab Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hello i would be really thankful if some kind soul could point me in the right direction.
    I have been following this guide but im stuck at Restoring the Trucha bug.
    I have a Pal Wii with 4.2 and wiikey 1.3 i have and SD card with the files from modify.zip, i got the homebrew channel running and bootmii
    My goal is to be able to play backups from usb loader gx for the kids.

    Everything is going fine until this line that i have marked as bold:
    My problem is that when i choose downgrade IOS15 and press load IOS from SD (twice) it gets to Installing and then quickly goes to another screen without saying complete or failed, that says something like:
    "You will now be returned to the loader, if your IOS installation was successful choose IOS36 from the meny." Something like that. So i load up DOP-IOS MOD v10 again and tried going to the meny where you can install IOS to slot 36, and that install starts running but fails with a message something like: You need to use an IOS that is hacked, thats what IOS15 was for.

    Ive gone through the guide like 10 times now and started from the beginning and tried another SD card. But i never get to the "Wait till it says Press 1 then pess it" it always goes to "you will now be returned to the loader..." message.

    I would be very thankful if someone replies.

    How do i proceed?
     
  2. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Restoring the Trucha Bug
    Run DOP-IOS MOD v10
    Go down to select Install an IOS that accepts fakesigning.
    Press B to choose no IOS reload.
    Choose Downgrade IOS15.
    Choose load IOS from SD.
    Choose IOS15 & press A.
    Choose IOS36 menu. In there use these settings:

    Install IOS to slot (36)
    Hash check (trucha) YES
    ES_Identity YES
    NAND Permissions YES
     
  3. HANGEMHIER

    Newcomer HANGEMHIER Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Having the exact same issue as op.. Except on a NTSC unit. I run it exactly as described numerous times.. I have tried using the NUS as well. When it runs i never get the option to press "1" to go back to set the IOS36 options..

    Restoring the Trucha Bug
    Run DOP-IOS MOD v10
    Go down to select Install an IOS that accepts fakesigning.
    Press B to choose no IOS reload.
    Choose Downgrade IOS15.
    Choose load IOS from SD.
    Choose IOS15 & press A. (Important)
    Wait till it says Press 1 then pess it.
    Choose IOS36 menu. In there use these settings:


    Install IOS to slot (36)
    Hash check (trucha) YES
    ES_Identity YES
    NAND Permissions YES

    I never get the op[tion to press 1, it kicks me back to screen that says " we are now returning you to your loader......."

    my patience is running thin.. thanks for any advice..
     
  4. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
  5. HANGEMHIER

    Newcomer HANGEMHIER Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    LongTom Thanks. I Tried the link above, on the video.. followed to a t and ended up getting an error of some sort..
    Says:
    Exception(DSI) occurred!
    GPR00 800f6368 gpr08 00189b000 ...... about 40 differnt combinations of numbers then it says :

    Stack Dump:
    then some more #'s

    then Code Dump:
    Then some more#'s

    Not sure if ive screwed up somewhere in an earlier step or what. I have a wii i did a few months ago following the same tutorial(simplistic) and didnt have one issue.. ive been banging my head for 2 hours on this one.. only thing i did differnt was actually updated the system to 4.2 through wii update.. i didnt do that on this one.. SO maybe screwed somehting up in the process..
     
  6. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    did you have the right version of TBR cause there's 3 you want 1.1 or 1.1mod
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    No you want 1.11 or the mod. 1.1 has code dump issues and after some months i finally updated it.
     
  8. HANGEMHIER

    Newcomer HANGEMHIER Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks!! that worked, had to use 1.1 . Christ now my HBC is upside down [​IMG] holy hell.. any thoughts on that one?
     
  9. HANGEMHIER

    Newcomer HANGEMHIER Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Great thanks again for all your help..
     
  10. shrimpkebab
    OP

    Newcomer shrimpkebab Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    I will try and use the TBR 1.1 tonight and see if that goes better.
    Also another probobly stupid question [​IMG]


    Does that mean i should install all of the above or choose 1 of them?
     
  11. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just use TBR and then continue the guide

    delete stubbs(with dop-ios) and install files with wadmanager
     
  12. shrimpkebab
    OP

    Newcomer shrimpkebab Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Sweden
    Worked like a charm with TBR [​IMG]
    Deleted the stubbs with dop-ios.

    Kids are playing NSMB now and also got Mplayer working [​IMG]

    Thanks for your help!
     
  13. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Your welcome
     
  14. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    *You're welcome
     

Share This Page