Stubbed system menu IOS but no booting problem?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jpaa, Mar 7, 2011.

Mar 7, 2011
  1. Jpaa
    OP

    Newcomer Jpaa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I've checked some sysCheck logs posted around and one them showed a 4.1U Wii with its system menu IOS stubbed. Even though, the person who posted the log said the Wii was booting just fine. I do know Priiloader can change the IOS used to load the system menu executable, but Priiloader itself is booted by the system menu IOS, so if it was stubbed, then any Power PC app wouldn't boot at all, isn't it right?

    How come the said Wii boots without problems? [​IMG]
     
  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,900
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    System Menu 4.1U uses IOS60; it is unlikely that you saw this IOS as stubbed and it was working fine. It is more likely that you saw it trucha patched.
     
  3. Jpaa
    OP

    Newcomer Jpaa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a copy of the sysCheck log:

    sysCheck v2.0.1 by Double_A
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.1U (v449)
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID:
    Boot2 v2

    Found 93 titles.
    Found 41 IOS on this console. 10 of them are stub.

    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): Trucha Bug
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS12 (rev 526): Trucha Bug
    IOS13 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS14 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS15 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): Trucha Bug
    IOS20 (rev 256): Stub
    IOS21 (rev 1039): Trucha Bug
    IOS22 (rev 1294): Trucha Bug
    IOS28 (rev 1807): Trucha Bug
    IOS30 (rev 2816): Stub
    IOS31 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS33 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS34 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS35 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug
    IOS36 (rev 3608): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS37 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS38 (rev 4124): Trucha Bug
    IOS41 (rev 3348): Trucha Bug
    IOS50 (rev 5120): Stub
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS53 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS55 (rev 5663): Trucha Bug
    IOS56 (rev 5662): Trucha Bug
    IOS57 (rev 5919): Trucha Bug
    IOS58 (rev 6176): No Patches
    IOS60 (rev 6400): Stub
    IOS61 (rev 5661): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 6912): Stub
    IOS80 (rev 6944): Trucha Bug
    IOS202 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS249 (rev 20): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS250 (rev 65535): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10

    Original poster said his Wii worked with no problems.
     
  4. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    He used pimp my wii which installs iOS-60 v6174 patched to v6400
     
  5. Jpaa
    OP

    Newcomer Jpaa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Really? Didn't know PimpMyWii did that, I guess rev number has no importance as long as the IOS still works. By the way, that app was known for causing some problems, is it still problematic nowadays?
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    good thinking!

    I think its silly that pimp my wii changes the version to 6400, it's just going to mislead ppl like this. ModMii (for example) installs IOS-60 v6174 patched to v16174, so it will survive updates but still allows people to easily determine what is REALLY installed.

    Come to think of it... this was actually your (mauifrog's) suggestion... before a ModMii update months ago it used to install IOS-60 v6174 patched to v6401 (instead of v16174)... but even ModMii's old way (v6401) of doing it is better than pimpmywii's (v6400)... at least if the version number is 6401 most users would recognize that it isn't a stub.

    edit:
    @Jpaa,
    the version number technically doesn't matter as long as it equal to or greater than the ninty stub (in this case v6400). If the version number is less than 6400, a ninty update will stub that IOS... but it will also install IOS80 and the 4.3 System menu, so u won't brick if this happens, but if u were to reinstall the 4.1 (or 4.0) System menu without realizing that your IOS60 was stubbed it will result in a semi-brick
     
  7. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    looks like a false/fake report to me and he/she is on SM 4.3, a stub SM 4.1 IOS and SM 4.2 IOS yet SM 4.3 IOS is patched, havent looked at the IOS versions properly but at a glance thats what it looks like to me
     
  8. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I hope you're not right, otherwise it's a sad sad day when the ppl offering free help are having their time wasted like this...
     
  9. Jpaa
    OP

    Newcomer Jpaa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    XFlak, why reinstalling system menu 4.0/4.1 after a stubbed IOS60 would cause a semi-brick, not a full brick? The sm would still be booted?
     
  10. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    If you have a stubbed system menu IOS you can recover if:
    1) u have bootmii @ boot2
    or
    2) u have a nand backup and an infectus (or if u don't have an infectus u can send the wii and nand dump to deadlyfoez and he can repair it for cheap)

    there may be other solutions involving the recovery menu or autobooting a disc or w/e, but I'm not sure

    so I noticed u didn't comment on the accusations that your syscheck report may have been falsified... no comment?
     
  11. Jpaa
    OP

    Newcomer Jpaa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, I thought the falsification was just speculation. But, no, it didn't happen. Talking with the original poster of the log, I asked if he used PimpMyWii, based on what mauifrog wrote, and he confirmed using PimpMyWii some days ago. This is probably the end of the mystery.
     
  12. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FYI, SysCheck (and other tools too AFAIK) detect stubs by the last two digits of the version number being "00" (e.g. 6400) hence the false stub detection. And yet another reason PimpMyWii is a piece of fail.
     
  13. jesquinas

    Member jesquinas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Spain
    The code of detection for a IOS stub is to look if it ends in 00?Do you think that the code of Syscheck is so bad?
    Moreover I think that there is a small bug with NUS 1.9.If you select IOS60 v6174 NUS says :

    " --- IOS60 ---

    Version 6400 of this IOS a stub, meaning it has no functionality besides simply existing. You will not be able to run any code from a stub IOS. You should NOT install version 6400 unless you know what you're doing!! If you're using System Menu 4.0 or 4.1, BY ALL MEANS avoid this version!"


    But v6174 is downloaded.

    Thx.

    Edit: It happens with others IOS like 70.
     
  14. jesquinas

    Member jesquinas GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Spain
    Why doesnt Nintendo use hashes when it needs to know if it must stubbing a IOS or not?

    Thx.
     
  15. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    waste of time and processing power.
     

Share This Page