Start USBLoader GX at wii startup?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by thehritzinator, Jun 5, 2010.

Jun 5, 2010
  1. thehritzinator
    OP

    Member thehritzinator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Hogwarts
    Country:
    United States
    I have bootmii installed. is there a way to make it so the wii will start with USBLoader GX?
     
  2. transam81

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    ya use priiloader, that will get you on the right track
     
  3. gameking66

    Member gameking66 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    576
    Country:
    United States
    Use Priiloader but a forwarder, can't use the bootable .dol.
     
  4. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
  5. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    I use preloader with the .dol in the root of the memory card. I installed the .dol with preloader. Also, the only bad thing is that if you do make GX your startup prog, when you ever need to "return to system menu", you'll end up back at GX loader instead of the Wii Menu, which can be a royal pain.

    just FYI.

    Wynd
     
  6. Jimpex

    Newcomer Jimpex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Germany
    @ giantpune:

    Never know of this method. Just tried it and it works perfectly!!

    Thank you very much...

    greets Jimpex
     
  7. thehritzinator
    OP

    Member thehritzinator GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Hogwarts
    Country:
    United States
    I used giantpunes way. it worked. thank u

    Posts merged

    I used giantpunes way. it worked. thank u
     
  8. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
     
  9. NPVinny

    Newcomer NPVinny Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet, thanks giantpune
     
  10. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    bump for Pune [​IMG]
     
  11. Thomas83Lin

    Member Thomas83Lin Retro Gamer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,484
    Country:
    United States
    Myself use priiloader, and a autoboot Neogamma Channel Dol installed which autoboots Neogamma on start, I had the same problem about when i try to exit neoamma it would just reload itself. which was a pain, but i noticed if I use the rebooter option with no hooks within neogamma, it will boot the system menu instead of booting back into neogamma. but GX probably doesn't have a rebooter function does it?
     
  12. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the source for it is nothing more than the ppcskel code example for using the MINI tool chain. this is the "ohai world" example. ive just removed the "ohai world" part and added boot2_run( insert channel here ).

    http://www.multiupload.com/JJBQ12BJYM
     
  13. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    thank you
     
  14. BiPoLaR

    Member BiPoLaR GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    thanks again giantpune... glad I saw this. pretty f'n sweet [​IMG]
     
  15. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    theres really nothing special i did in there. its all done by the magic of MINI.
     
  16. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    You can change that setting in preloader. If you set return to system menu to system menu instead of installed file it should go back to the regular menu.
     

Share This Page