Hacking Stargate 3DS + NTRBootHax

kublai

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
508
Trophies
1
XP
2,038
Country
United States
Hey Everyone,

I have a new Nintendo 3DS XL with FW v11.6 and I have installed NTRBoothax on it with LUMAs v9.0. After I did this I decided to get a StarGate 3DS so I can just play .3ds ROMs just like my Gateway 3DS so my question is will the Stargate 3DS work fine with NTRBoothax and LUMAs already installed?

Thanks in advance.
 

Paperjin

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 11, 2017
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
255
Country
United States
Since you said.3ds files, then i'm assuming you want to play 3ds games. I have a sky3ds which does the same process to emulate 3ds games, it acts as a cart. So yes, you can indeed use it on a 3ds that you modded with NTRBoothax and luma. I've done it on my wife's, mine and my daughters. The sky3ds works on all of these. the stargate however may be redundant as you already have CFW, you could always make backups of your current games and turn them into CIA files. In alot of ways it's safer than using a stargate/sky3ds as you don't have to worry about headers.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat
D

Deleted User

Guest
Hey Everyone,

I have a new Nintendo 3DS XL with FW v11.6 and I have installed NTRBoothax on it with LUMAs v9.0. After I did this I decided to get a StarGate 3DS so I can just play .3ds ROMs just like my Gateway 3DS so my question is will the Stargate 3DS work fine with NTRBoothax and LUMAs already installed?

Thanks in advance.

Dude. I am sorry to say, but you just wasted your money on that stargate. If you wanted to play 3ds games, you should have just used freeshop and bought a larger sd card instead.

Here is a link to a freeshop guide:
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,119
Country
Australia
Dude. I am sorry to say, but you just wasted your money on that stargate. If you wanted to play 3ds games, you should have just used freeshop and bought a larger sd card instead.

Here is a link to a freeshop guide: SNIP
Don't encourage people to use video guides. There is a freeShop guide on the OP of the Noob Paradise thread.
 

miss_nakano

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2016
Messages
180
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
1,018
Country
Australia
You already have gateway, don't you? If you REALLY want the .3ds format for games, you could have made use of that instead of buying stargate. I use luma 11.6 sysnand along with my gateway emunand 11.2 myself(only because I already have gateway beforehand and want to make use of it).
 
Last edited by miss_nakano,

Technicmaster0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
4,421
Trophies
2
Website
www.flashkarten.tk
XP
3,572
Country
Gambia, The
Hey Everyone,

I have a new Nintendo 3DS XL with FW v11.6 and I have installed NTRBoothax on it with LUMAs v9.0. After I did this I decided to get a StarGate 3DS so I can just play .3ds ROMs just like my Gateway 3DS so my question is will the Stargate 3DS work fine with NTRBoothax and LUMAs already installed?

Thanks in advance.
The stargate will work fine for 3ds games with luma. But currently DS games don't work with luma, you would have to use another cfw like cakes for that.
 

lAkdaOpeKA

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
1,386
Trophies
0
XP
1,507
Country
Italy
Hey Everyone,

I have a new Nintendo 3DS XL with FW v11.6 and I have installed NTRBoothax on it with LUMAs v9.0. After I did this I decided to get a StarGate 3DS so I can just play .3ds ROMs just like my Gateway 3DS so my question is will the Stargate 3DS work fine with NTRBoothax and LUMAs already installed?

Thanks in advance.
Why didn't you just use your newly installed CFW to install .cia games? Why did you waste money on an overpriced flashcart which you don't need if you already have a CFW? Why?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

lAkdaOpeKA

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Messages
1,386
Trophies
0
XP
1,507
Country
Italy
Because he wants to play 3ds files. He wrote that in the post
1) Grab Riku's 3DS Simple CIA Coverter
2) Dump you ARM9 bootrom with B9S SINCE HE DID INSTALL IT BEFORE BUYING THE FLASHCART and put it in the converter's folder
3) Put the .3ds ROMs in the roms directory
4) Click "Convert 3DS ROM to CIA"
5) You just saved 91 fucking dollars, which you could have as well spent on a backup 3DS.
 
Last edited by lAkdaOpeKA,

Technicmaster0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
4,421
Trophies
2
Website
www.flashkarten.tk
XP
3,572
Country
Gambia, The
1) Grab Riku's 3DS Simple CIA Coverter
2) Dump you bootrom with B9S SINCE HE DID INSTALL IT BEFORE BUYING THE FLASHCART
3) Put the .3ds ROMs in the roms directory
4) Click "Convert 3DS ROM to CIA"
5) You just saved 91 fucking dollars, which you could have as well spent on a backup 3DS.
But that's not playing 3ds ROMs. It's converting them.
 

kublai

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
508
Trophies
1
XP
2,038
Country
United States
Thanks everyone for your input and replies. I got the Stargate 3DS since I don't want to mess around converting .3ds to .cia as I just want to drag and drop and be done with it.
 

crimpshrine

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2014
Messages
594
Trophies
0
XP
1,169
Country
United States
Thanks everyone for your input and replies. I got the Stargate 3DS since I don't want to mess around converting .3ds to .cia as I just want to drag and drop and be done with it.

Don't worry about it, you don't have to justify your wants. Half of these people don't see 3 inches in front of their faces. I get it, I would have just said stick with your gateway. I have multiple kids and multiple gateways. I have probably saved a couple months worth of time over the lifetime of my 3ds's by using the GW's I can just swap back and forth SD cards from the GW's between my kids when they want different games, when I set them up it takes me like a whole 15 minutes to setup 20 different games, etc.. Plus I can still install CIA's for them (rarely do that) Dealing with CIA's in mass for multiple units, is a pain in the ass and waste of time.

At this point in the game the Stargate 3DS seems overpriced though. Curious why you went with it. Drag and drop DS functionality on top of .3ds support? I still have DS units with DS Two flashcards, so I guess that is another reason I am not interested in Stargate 3ds.
 

kublai

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
508
Trophies
1
XP
2,038
Country
United States
Don't worry about it, you don't have to justify your wants. Half of these people don't see 3 inches in front of their faces. I get it, I would have just said stick with your gateway. I have multiple kids and multiple gateways. I have probably saved a couple months worth of time over the lifetime of my 3ds's by using the GW's I can just swap back and forth SD cards from the GW's between my kids when they want different games, when I set them up it takes me like a whole 15 minutes to setup 20 different games, etc.. Plus I can still install CIA's for them (rarely do that) Dealing with CIA's in mass for multiple units, is a pain in the ass and waste of time.

At this point in the game the Stargate 3DS seems overpriced though. Curious why you went with it. Drag and drop DS functionality on top of .3ds support? I still have DS units with DS Two flashcards, so I guess that is another reason I am not interested in Stargate 3ds.
I just like the conveneint of just having to drop my .3ds games on the microsd and play as I'm spoiled by the Gateway 3DS. I did cfw just as a learning thing as I have an old R4i cart and wanted to take my stock v11.6 all he way to cfw just to see what is all involved. I'm using my Gateway 3DS on my old 3DS as Gateway currently don't have an official release to support 11.6 yet and I don't want to install a Frankenstein GW Fw. I also got the Stargate 3DS at a decent price which is way less than the $91 and plus I got a free r4i RTS SDHC along with free shipping as well so I couldn't refuse.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @K3Nv2, ancientboi does too
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    95 out 😭
  • a_username_that_is_cool @ a_username_that_is_cool:
    @BigOnYa i dont think you can get on gbatemp in north korea
  • a_username_that_is_cool @ a_username_that_is_cool:
    what about the fact that redstarOS
  • a_username_that_is_cool @ a_username_that_is_cool:
    or however it's stylized
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bigonya is born and raised north Korea what he says goes
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I travel to the USA for work everyday, then go back to N Korea in evenings to be with my 17 kids and wife. Its a rough ride on a bicycle each way uphill and barefoot.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    You mean 12 wives you're not sure if the 5 are yours
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    True, they are government issued.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bigonya real name is kim
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh that's all the kids names tho, Kim 1, Kim 2, etc
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @Xdqwerty could be yours
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh he is Putin's
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He isn't nuke hungry
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    This game "The Quarry" is nuts, I thought the hillbillies were the killers, plot twist
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Hillbillies are peaceful it's fox news that makes them look bad
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Heard an old coworker passed away sad guy worked there like 30 years
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    my condolences
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Yea sorry to hear. I just found out other day my buddy from high school OD on fentynal. Is sad, esp after years of on/off drugs, rehab, in/out of jail, he still couldn't fight his addiction. He was 49. Luckily never married or any kids.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, I'm sorry to hear that.
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Brb
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That's life unfortunately. He choose his own path.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Rehab only helps if you want it to help
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Rehab only helps if you want it to help +1