Some questions about backup loading

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Sotoro, Jan 19, 2011.

Jan 19, 2011
  1. Sotoro
    OP

Member Sotoro GBAtemp Fan

Germany
    Hey, i'm new to the ps3 scene and i hope you can help me with some basic questions:

1. I have downloaded a release, but it's not a pkg file. It's a folder (PS3_GAME\USRDIR) with some files. for example *.sdat and *.rpf files. Can i load this game with MultiMan or any other backup loader on kmeaw CFW?

2. Can i copy this release on a usb stick and launch it or how can i get it on the ps3 from pc?

3. Can i use the ntfs formation on the usb-stick, because one file is bigger then 4gb?

Maybe we should make a "noob paradise" thread like in the wii-section, so that there are not so many threads about basic stuff?

2. ZombiePosessor

Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

United States
    Unfortunately I fall into this category also. I know how all the shit works, I just don't know what I HAVE to put on the internal HDD from the PS3_GAME folder. And also, if I put a game into HDD:\GAMEZ\GAme Name will it work, or do I HAVE to use the BCUSXXXX format? I'm using kmeaw and all that.

3. synce

Member synce だいこんちゃんのだいふぁん

United States
    After setting up your FTP connection you need to upload the BLUS##### folder from your PC to devhdd0/games on your PS3, then launch something like Rogero and fire up the game. To play from external you need to put that same folder in 'gamez'... I think. I'm only playing from internal

4. Sotoro
    OP

Germany
    But how can i get the release on a fat32 usb device, if one file is larger then 4gb?

5. luke_c

Member luke_c Big Boss

United Kingdom
    If the file is larger than 4Gb then you will need to run the game from the PS3's internal hard drive.

6. bnui_ransder

Newcomer bnui_ransder Member

United States
    I am currently using a dual FAT32/WBFS external HDD.