Hacking Soft Mod 4.0?

Emeraldman94

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
386
Trophies
0
XP
748
Country
United States
So I'm on 4.0 I'm only interested in a soft mod for free to play backups (that I own of course) and no jigs or any of that RCM stuff since Im no good at that..

Do i need to keep waiting for future releases? I remember that I was supposed to wait for Atmosphere. Now that its out al the guides are behind and Im not sure if its what I need.
 

Ashura66

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
1,711
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Under my bed
XP
1,355
Country
Portugal
So I'm on 4.0 I'm only interested in a soft mod for free to play backups (that I own of course) and no jigs or any of that RCM stuff since Im no good at that..

Do i need to keep waiting for future releases? I remember that I was supposed to wait for Atmosphere. Now that its out al the guides are behind and Im not sure if its what I need.

Atmosphere is still a CFW, meaning it still requires a jig and RCM access. What you are looking for doesn't exist YET
 

Emeraldman94

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2008
Messages
386
Trophies
0
XP
748
Country
United States
Atmosphere is still a CFW, meaning it still requires a jig and RCM access. What you are looking for doesn't exist YET
Thats what I thought since I always see it lumped with REINAND. Wasnt it originally advertised as a full blown exploit? Im guessing it will come later?

Also If I was on 2.0 I could do everything without the jig right? Just not past 3.1?
 

Ashura66

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
1,711
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Under my bed
XP
1,355
Country
Portugal
Thats what I thought since I always see it lumped with REINAND. Wasnt it originally advertised as a full blown exploit? Im guessing it will come later?

Also If I was on 2.0 I could do everything without the jig right? Just not past 3.1?

Not an exploit, it's mean to be a replacement for the Horizon OS(The Switch's native OS) though right now it's still lacking features to be considered that.
And yes i believe so
 

Adran_Marit

Walküre's Hacker
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
3,112
Trophies
1
Location
42*South
XP
3,068
Country
Australia
So I'm on 4.0 I'm only interested in a soft mod for free to play backups (that I own of course) and no jigs or any of that RCM stuff since Im no good at that..

Do i need to keep waiting for future releases? I remember that I was supposed to wait for Atmosphere. Now that its out al the guides are behind and Im not sure if its what I need.

Basically you still need to wait if you want the cold/warmboot options. Dejavu (the exploit you are talking about) isn't getting released until after it is fully patched or the mariko units get released from everything I have read
 

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
16,161
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,050
Country
United States
The "softmod" you are most likely referring to is Deja Vu which supposedly can be made to work on firmware 6.0 but we don't have an ETA on when it will be released. Its also possible that it will be released at different times for supported firmwares. For example, the one for 2.0-3.0 was planned to be released earlier than the one for 3.0.1-4.1.
 

r5xscn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
261
Trophies
0
Location
On earth, somewhere
XP
1,470
Country
Antarctica
The "softmod" you are most likely referring to is Deja Vu which supposedly can be made to work on firmware 6.0 but we don't have an ETA on when it will be released. Its also possible that it will be released at different times for supported firmwares. For example, the one for 2.0-3.0 was planned to be released earlier than the one for 3.0.1-4.1.
Huh, Deja Vu works on 6.0? So 6.0 can also soft boot via Deja Vu in the future? I thought Deja Vu was patched in fw 5.0.
 

larrypretty

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
419
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
526
Country
United States
So I'm on 4.0 I'm only interested in a soft mod for free to play backups (that I own of course) and no jigs or any of that RCM stuff since Im no good at that..

Do i need to keep waiting for future releases? I remember that I was supposed to wait for Atmosphere. Now that its out al the guides are behind and Im not sure if its what I need.
What you said is currently not here for your firmware version, you can check here https://switch.hacks.guide/get-started. Now you either keep waiting or use the jig&rcm dongles.
 

pworld

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2018
Messages
114
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
696
Country
Austria
The "softmod" you are most likely referring to is Deja Vu which supposedly can be made to work on firmware 6.0 but we don't have an ETA on when it will be released. Its also possible that it will be released at different times for supported firmwares. For example, the one for 2.0-3.0 was planned to be released earlier than the one for 3.0.1-4.1.
Well, it's simple: It is released when the exploit chain is fully patched. So if Nintendo patches all exploits currently known, then Deja Vu will be released for all firmwares it supports at the same time. However, we can assume that Nintendo patches one exploit after the other. So we can assume that there is a chance that there is a patched exploit chain on e.g. 2.0, but not on 4.1 - then the exploit will be released earlier for 2.0.

Also, we know one thing: You should never update because the exploit chain will typically only be released after it has been checked that it is fully patched, i.e. a newer firmware update is out. So if you are always on current firmware, you can expect never to have a warmboot exploit, but if you stay on any arbitrary firmware, there is a chance that you will get an exploit chain at some point in time.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    still only 600-700 nits i have to use the contrast enhancer to make bright lights look as bright as they are supposed to but the alternative was the next tier up and buying a demo model that would've been about the same cost, that had 1000 nits but issues with black crush
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Where prices are low
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes so i think i made the right choice
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there was also a sony with worse local dimming and the glow was really apparent
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is non linear anyway. 100 nits is about 50% of the peak output of a 10,000 nit display.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    Gift
  • Gift
    SG854 @ SG854: https://www.avsforum.com/threads/colourspace-zro-low-cost-manual-calibration-software-thread.3175...