Hacking So what happened to the Chakra exploit

mikey420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
911
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
473
Country
United States
Not really, Devmode does not give us everything we'd want
Yes but it does give us everything that hack would have... it's a userland exploit and doesn't have control over the system/gets no more access than the software that was exploited had.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,963
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
19,057
Country
Antarctica
Not really, Devmode does not give us everything we'd want

Devmode gives us exactly what we want.
Except for piracy, which is illegal and wrong anyway.

Homebrewers usually don't encourage piracy.
Besides, PS3 wasn't hacked for 5 years cause hackers already had Linux running.
That's all they want.

MS already gave us the option to have our own code running in devmode, so there's little motivation to hack the console.


Yes but it does give us everything that hack would have... it's a userland exploit and doesn't have control over the system/gets no more access than the software that was exploited had.

Devmode is not an exploit.
It's an intended feature of the One.
 

Darksabre72

Blue Falcon
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
621
Trophies
0
XP
1,550
Country
United States
Devmode gives us exactly what we want.
Except for piracy, which is illegal and wrong anyway.

Homebrewers usually don't encourage piracy.
Besides, PS3 wasn't hacked for 5 years cause hackers already had Linux running.
That's all they want.

MS already gave us the option to have our own code running in devmode, so there's little motivation to hack the console.




Devmode is not an exploit.
It's an intended feature of the One.
ok so with dev mode do you still have to pay for it or is it now free?
 
D

Deleted-355425

Guest
Its free on the store again now.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



edit sorry its £12 when you sign up, never mind lol.

Done some digging, you can get a one time use code for a free dev account here

https://developer.microsoft.com/en-...utm_medium=email&utm_content=pstbldeml_wrapup

Get your code, goto aka.ms/activatexbox and sign up for a dev account, on the billing section enter your promo code and it will let you grab a free account, then you can use the dev app on the xbox to get your activation done.
 

Darksabre72

Blue Falcon
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
621
Trophies
0
XP
1,550
Country
United States

murdersbane

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 16, 2016
Messages
74
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
318
Country
United States
Devmode gives us exactly what we want.
Except for piracy, which is illegal and wrong anyway.

Homebrewers usually don't encourage piracy.
Besides, PS3 wasn't hacked for 5 years cause hackers already had Linux running.
That's all they want.

MS already gave us the option to have our own code running in devmode, so there's little motivation to hack the console.




Devmode is not an exploit.
It's an intended feature of the One.
we can agree to disagree on the piracy thing....

HOWEVER dev mode is very weak and locks alot of the systems resources away... a better hack would be so much better.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DRAGONBALLVINTAGE

CuriousTommy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
524
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
637
Country
United States
we can agree to disagree on the piracy thing....

HOWEVER dev mode is very weak and locks alot of the systems resources away... a better hack would be so much better.

Sure, but dev mode seems to be good enough for now.

With that being said, I wouldn't mind seeing a kernel exploit when the console is discontinued.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
21,963
Trophies
3
Location
Восторг
XP
19,057
Country
Antarctica
we can agree to disagree on the piracy thing....

HOWEVER dev mode is very weak and locks alot of the systems resources away... a better hack would be so much better.


Devmode recently got an update that allocated more resources to it.

A kernel hack would purely be of piracy reasons.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://www.operanewsapp.com/us/en/share/detail?news_id=3dab7b2419e0a4719ae30b1b4441e20a&news_ent...