Slot 1 vs Slot 2

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by pacman987, Mar 14, 2008.

Mar 14, 2008

Slot 1 vs Slot 2 by pacman987 at 5:22 PM (2,242 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

1. pacman987
    OP

Newcomer pacman987 Newbie

United States
    I just got a DS lite and I am looking into flash carts. I am a noob to the whole GBA/DS flash scene but I am competent with computers so please bear with me.
    I have done alot of research on the boards and now I have a few questions.

I want to be able to play both GBA roms and DS roms.
    I understand there are two ways to do this:

A slot 1 card with a GB expansion

A slot 2 card with a passcard

Which is the better option, is there any difference, with say speeds and loading times?
    Is one slot faster than the other?

Also on the topic of patching, I read that some cards you need to manually patch all the rom files, and some have auto patching, are their auto patching options for both card types or only one of them?

Also finally game saves - I read some of them use a battery back up for them, I would rather have them stored in flash so it isnt volatile and wont erase when the battery dies.

Thanks for your help guys, i will try my best not to be an annoying newb and ask questions that are obvious.

2. superrab

Newcomer superrab Member

United States
    In both cases the GBA games will be running off of whatever is in your slot 2 since there is no GBA emulator for slot 1 right now (and probably never will be.) I haven't tried running .nds files from a slot 2 card but I can say that what will probably make the biggest difference in speed is your choice of media if you use a slot 1. For example, some crappy micro SD cards by generic brands usually run a lot slower than higher quality ones like Kingston. You will also find cards like the RPG and G6 (I think,) that implement flash storage which reads at a faster rate than micro SD.