Skyrim Creation Kit + Official High Res Texture pack Released

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Berthenk, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]

    [yt]gDKivlGmia4[/yt]


    [​IMG] Source

    Who's excited for the mods that will be made with this? Are you going to play around with it yourself? I sure am going to!
    Also, the texture pack: are you going to use it?

    Edit: added video from Source. And why did there get so much space between the image and the quote...?
     
    1 person likes this.


  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    9,592
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    YES! YES!
    2MB gif

    *downloads HD pack*
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn Fuck you

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,338
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    My PC can't handle it anyways.
    :cry:
     
  4. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,581
    Country:
    United States
    there also this

    Valve and Bethesda have teamed up to bring users the Space Sphere mod
    see
    http://www.joystiq.com/2012/02/07/skyrims-creation-kit-released-with-surprise-high-resolution-t/
     
  5. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,054
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I assume that if this officially mod makes the framerate on my PC go to crap, I can easily uninstall it, right?

    CPU: Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz (x64) SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1
    GPU: eVGA GeForce GTS 250 1GB GDDR3
    RAM: 3GB DDR2 SDRAM PC2 6400
    OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    (I use to have 4GB, but the other RAM module freaked out and caused the PC to lock up during the POST/Boot process).

    Weird. Just installed the mod, and the data files do indeed indicate that the mod is installed, but....I saw no drop in framerate. Does anyone know just what textures were affected, and how can I tell what changed?
     
  6. YayMii

    Member YayMii #TeamChitoge

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,794
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Personally, I think the official space pod mod is bigger news than this new texture pack.

    ...SPAAAAAAAAACE
     
  7. Pingouin7

    Member Pingouin7 Ammako

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    I would never have thought that a high-res texture pack would have been needed.
     
  8. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,054
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Any insight on why this is happening to me, that is, why I can't see any improvements? I honestly don't see any changes.
     
  9. Chanser

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    http://i.imgur.com/I3HsR.jpg
     
  10. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,760
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    I still haven't installed it seeing as Skyrim is on my other pc, but the improvement seems pretty amazing from that pic. =O
     
  11. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    Shame on you! You should have at least a 20% overclock on that CPU. :P
     
  12. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,054
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Weird..I do see a very perceptible difference in that picture alright...maybe I'm just not looking hard enough, but here's a video I captured using Bandicam (and I know that the fps in the video is low, but when I'm not recording in 720p, I get 50-60fps). Is the mod in effect or not?





    What, and cut the CPU's life in half? Fat chance. Besides, I only have the stock cooler (okay, I confess that don't know jack squat about overclocking safely). Plus I don't want to fry any of the motherboard components, as I'm trying to save up on on apartment and don't want to spend money on a new one.

    Oh, and I'm 100% convinced the bloody mod isn't working for me. Out of all the millions of people who have this game, I happen to be the only one who can't see a difference. My hardware isn't THAT bad to the point of not having it work. I have half the settings on High while the other is on Ultra.
     
  13. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,085
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    You won't cut an E8400's life in half by putting a slight overclock on it, trust me.
     
  14. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,054
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Can you at least let me know why I can't see a difference with the mod (in the video)?

    Either way, I don't trust myself overclocking the CPU.
     
  15. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    I think it might be because of your CPU. I have that exact processor inside my old PC (Clocked to 3.6) and a AMD FX4100 inside another. There seems to be a differance to me between the two machines running the same game. You'll notice the Hi rez textures when you're inside more than you would just travelling outside with the E8400 it seems. I had a look at the game running on my other machine (FX 4100) and everything looked better, inside or out.
     
  16. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hehe! Running this will be no problem for my computer. So bethesda encourages players to create mods? Well, I salute them, for this epic insight.
     
  17. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,054
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Well that's a bunch of bullocks.....are you sure? What can I do?
     
  18. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I read somewhere that not all textures have been res'd up, so that could be the problem.
     
  19. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,237
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i can barely play the game stable on medium settings, installing the HD pack will only make the lag worse i would have thought.
     
  20. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14,054
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Well that would certainly explain it, as it sounds like it's a work in progress. At least could someone tell if the weapons/shields I showed in the video have been re-textured or not? Funny thing is, I can run the game at nearly 60fps with high/ultra settings. FSAA/FXAA and Anisotropic filtering kill the performance like there's no tomorrow.

    Edit 4:31PM - Apparently, the modified textures are just the originals (no new textures), but they are improved, yet more subtle to notice right away. Glad to know that my specs aren't that crappy.
     

Share This Page