Homebrew Sky3DS?

Famicon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
359
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
319
Country
United States
I'm thinking of buying Sky3DS since it can play Game ROMs and I'm currently struggling with Citra, which I don't believe has any gyro based functionalities, which is a must have for games like Mario and Luigi Dream Team.

I just have a few questions about it.

Does the MicroSD card you put in act like an SD card for the 3DS? Or is that simply where you put 3DS game roms? Can it run games besides 3DS?

Does it support cheat codes? And does it have save states?
 

MsMidnight

part time fe modder
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
1,753
Trophies
0
Location
kys
Website
camilla.hostfree.pw
XP
1,397
Country
I'm thinking of buying Sky3DS since it can play Game ROMs and I'm currently struggling with Citra, which I don't believe has any gyro based functionalities, which is a must have for games like Mario and Luigi Dream Team.

I just have a few questions about it.

Does the MicroSD card you put in act like an SD card for the 3DS? Or is that simply where you put 3DS game roms? Can it run games besides 3DS?

Does it support cheat codes? And does it have save states?
just get cfw.. http://3ds.guide
 

Famicon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
359
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
319
Country
United States
Ok, do you mean TWLoader? Oh on a lesser note how long does it take for 3dsutil to dump shared system font and everything else? Mine's stuck and I don't know if it's frozen or not.
 

Molina

My title? It's gone,... like the last fuck I gave.
Member
Joined
May 14, 2016
Messages
230
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
178
Country
France
I'm thinking of buying Sky3DS since it can play Game ROMs and I'm currently struggling with Citra, which I don't believe has any gyro based functionalities, which is a must have for games like Mario and Luigi Dream Team.

I just have a few questions about it.

Does the MicroSD card you put in act like an SD card for the 3DS? Or is that simply where you put 3DS game roms? Can it run games besides 3DS?

Does it support cheat codes? And does it have save states?
As they said CFW is better but I will answer your questions.

the MicroSD will containt .3ds (rom), .sav (save), settings.txt (self explanatory).
Sky3ds emulate a cartridge, there is no other features as cheat code, real time save,...
It can't (sadly) run anything else that non modded .3ds. Any modification in the .3ds data (mod) will make it unreadable by the Sky3ds.
 
Last edited by Molina,

Famicon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
359
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
319
Country
United States
Never mind, 3dsutils did freeze. Fixed it.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I can't find a cfw emulator for 3DS games. Someone name one? I already got Luma3DS, Decrypt9, arm9loaderhax, an easy way into the homebrew launcher and everything.
 

Famicon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
359
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
319
Country
United States
Ok, does anyone know what to use to emulate 3ds games on a 3DS without Citra or a third party cartridge (gateway/sky3ds etc)? I had trouble installing 3desmume, and I'm not even sure that one is good. Even with the .cia files, what would I run them from?
 

[email protected]

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
92
Trophies
0
XP
460
Country
United States
You install .cia files, and also, 3desmume is a ds emulator. There is (currently) no way to run .3ds games without a lengthy process, and in turn only converts them to .cias. I recommend installing .cias with FBI.
 
Last edited by [email protected],

Famicon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
359
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
319
Country
United States
I already installed .cia files to the point of installing programs like Decrypt9 and Luma3DS, with FBI.
Again, the reason I wanna emulate 3DS games on the 3DS without catridges or eshop downloads (from the SD card) is because Citra doesn't support gyro based controls yet, which are needed to beat games like Mario and Luigi: Dream Team.
 

[email protected]

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
92
Trophies
0
XP
460
Country
United States
I know you want to run .3ds, but at this point in time, its literally impossible, you either need a cart or you install the .cia, theres no other way
 

gnmmarechal

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
5,907
Trophies
2
Age
22
Location
https://gs2012.xyz
Website
gs2012.xyz
XP
5,026
Country
Portugal
I already installed .cia files to the point of installing programs like Decrypt9 and Luma3DS, with FBI.
Again, the reason I wanna emulate 3DS games on the 3DS without catridges or eshop downloads (from the SD card) is because Citra doesn't support gyro based controls yet, which are needed to beat games like Mario and Luigi: Dream Team.
That is not how it works. You don't emulate 3DS on the 3DS.

Sent from my cave of despair where I collect souls
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

Famicon

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
359
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
319
Country
United States
That is not how it works. You don't emulate 3DS on the 3DS.

Sent from my cave of despair where I collect souls

And yet we have Loadiine for the Wii U. I was referring to something like Loadiine for the 3DS. Without the need for something like Sky3DS. Otherwise how do we use gyro controls on an emulator like Citra?
 

shadoom

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
294
Trophies
0
XP
1,386
Country
Taiwan
Citra is a 3ds emulator for windows Linux and Mac... Why is it being compared to a real 3ds?

Follow the 3ds guide posted above and install your game with FreeShop or FBI plus the CIA file. There will be no emulation involved.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,051
Country
Australia
And yet we have Loadiine for the Wii U. I was referring to something like Loadiine for the 3DS. Without the need for something like Sky3DS. Otherwise how do we use gyro controls on an emulator like Citra?
OMG.
Just read and follow 3ds.guide.
You can run pirated 3DS games to your heart's content with all the gyro controls you can poke a stick at.
Stop asking questions that make us facepalm until you have read it.
 

nero99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,099
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,423
Country
United States
OMG.
Just read and follow 3ds.guide.
You can run pirated 3DS games to your heart's content with all the gyro controls you can poke a stick at.
Stop asking questions that make us facepalm until you have read it.
Famicon already said they have a9lh set up.
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,149
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,051
Country
Australia
Famicon already said they have a9lh set up.
Wow, it's incredible he got so far with so little understanding.
@Famicon install freeShop (it's in the TitleDB feature of FBI), and in its settings section scan the QR code you can get from the 3ds titlekeys website, and you can download and install all the 3DS games you want, and yes with gyro controls as well.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    still only 600-700 nits i have to use the contrast enhancer to make bright lights look as bright as they are supposed to but the alternative was the next tier up and buying a demo model that would've been about the same cost, that had 1000 nits but issues with black crush
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Where prices are low
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes so i think i made the right choice
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there was also a sony with worse local dimming and the glow was really apparent
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is non linear anyway. 100 nits is about 50% of the peak output of a 10,000 nit display.
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "very dark scenes are more common than very bright scenes" not in the games i play
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    really have to buy the top end model to get a tv that doesnt have any of those compromises and that would've had more dimming zones too but i am not made o money
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +1
    Gift
  • Gift
    SG854 @ SG854: https://www.avsforum.com/threads/colourspace-zro-low-cost-manual-calibration-software-thread.3175...