Should I update?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Mr.kuchinawa, Aug 8, 2009.

Aug 8, 2009

Should I update? by Mr.kuchinawa at 9:13 PM (1,129 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Mr.kuchinawa
    OP

    Newcomer Mr.kuchinawa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    Hope I post this in the right category. Anyways: hi.

    I have not used my wii for half a year, so I am very outdated when it comes to info on homebrew ect. I have the latest homebrew channel and recently installed bootmi (boot2).

    My main question is: Is there any reason for me not to update to the latest wii firmware? Is there anything else I should now about? My wii is a PAL.
     
  2. frazz

    Newcomer frazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I don't believe there is any reason why you shouldn't update, i updated yesterday to 4.0E made a nand dump then up to 4.1E and again a nand dump....everything that worked on 3.2 works on both 4.0 & 4.1


    Go for the latest CIOS38 rev 14: http://www.teknoconsolas.es/blog/waninkoko...om-ios38-rev-14

    HERE


    Forgot to mention:

    Use these to update


    4.0 firmware update: http://www.teknoconsolas.es/blog/waninkoko...ware-updater-40

    4.1 Firmware update: http://www.teknoconsolas.es/blog/waninkoko...ware-updater-41
     
  3. Mr.kuchinawa
    OP

    Newcomer Mr.kuchinawa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    nand dump? I'm afraid that I don't know much about this [​IMG] I think I installed some costum IOS or something some time ago, and I think I have starfall.. Sorry if this is stupid or anything, just want to make sure..

    Can't I just update automatically? IOS 38? [​IMG]
     
  4. frazz

    Newcomer frazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Mr.kuchinawa
    OP

    Newcomer Mr.kuchinawa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    Perhaps I'm just slow in the head here. I need IOS38 to play homebrew? I still don't understand why I can't update automatically. Are the ones you linked custom FW or something? Do I have to manually back up my nand or is that done for me already? I'm sure this is all very obvious to you, but I just got into this, so treat me like a toddler please.

    Just to sum things up, I need to: 1. fiddle with the ios38 stuff. 2. Update (manually?) 3. install startpatch
     
  6. frazz

    Newcomer frazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Before you update you should dump your nand!

    Read the link "READ HERE"
     
  7. Mr.kuchinawa
    OP

    Newcomer Mr.kuchinawa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    I've understood that much. However, I can't see why that link is relevant. All the Q&A in the FAQ are about problems, not the actual usage. I would really appreciate if someone could just explain this in a simple and straightforward way
     
  8. frazz

    Newcomer frazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. Mr.kuchinawa
    OP

    Newcomer Mr.kuchinawa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks. All that is left now is IOS38 and FW? Is there any reason why I can't download an update via my WII?
     
  10. frazz

    Newcomer frazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have to download the file and run the application from your SD card....you can choose network option from the installer
     
  11. frazz

    Newcomer frazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    *****Double Posted by accident*****
     
  12. Mr.kuchinawa
    OP

    Newcomer Mr.kuchinawa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    Could you please read my entire post(s) and come up with a consistent answer?
     
  13. frazz

    Newcomer frazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    "why don't you sit back and relax"

    I've done all the legwork for you

    Now its up to you "Google"
     
  14. Mr.kuchinawa
    OP

    Newcomer Mr.kuchinawa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    omg what is your problem... This is not very obvious to me and I think I've made that clear. Instead of scanning huge amounts of relatively complicated stuff, I merely wanted a quick dummy-explanation.

    But I guess you are too stuck up for that
     
  15. n00gz

    Newcomer n00gz Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Australia
    I had no problems updating to the latest FW, which I only did recently. So far have no issues at on the contrary really as am now able to move channels from system mem to my SD card. These channels are my WiiWare & VC games that I can now run via the SD card. Helps heaps saving memory for other useless stuff in the wii [​IMG]

    I was in the same situation as yourself and was outa the loop so to speak. I softmodded my wii at the start of the year to see if I could and then moved onto other things, such as life really.

    That FW updater 4.1 is what I used to update mine - does take a while around 20-30 mins to complete the process via WiFi connection.
     

Share This Page