Should I get this card over DSTwo?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by xxteargodxx, Aug 15, 2010.

Aug 15, 2010
  1. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    I bought this card a few months ago with no problem but ended up giving it to my brother, so now I need another one for myself.

    The last card I bought gave me no problems at all whatsoever, I'll be using it with a Nintendo DS Lite.

    Also I have a 16GB Micro SDHC (Don't think it says the name of the brand)

    Here's a picture of it below.

    [​IMG]
     


  2. Dr.Aqua

    Member Dr.Aqua GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    Um were is the picture?
     
  3. N4RU70 FR34K

    Banned N4RU70 FR34K Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    Aktsuki Hideout
    Country:
    United States
    Get the SuperCard DS2 [​IMG]
     
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,745
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Get the Supercard 2. [​IMG]
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Personally i'd get the DSTWO it's only $35 delivered from ShopTemp

    Your memory card is made by Toshiba

    [​IMG]

    They tend to be some of the best MicroSD cards you can get for use with flashcarts. Lowish write speeds, but fast read speeds and random access times. It's missing the Toshiba logo as they also OEM them, the Kingston Class 4 cards for example are the same cards.
     
  6. Dr.Aqua

    Member Dr.Aqua GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    If your low on money get the ak
     
  7. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Depends, do you want GBA/SNES emulation without a slot-2? Do you want Real Time Save or an in game menu? Do you want the ability to do free cheat? If money is not an issue and you said yes to all of this then a Supercard DSTWO is for you. (hey that rhymed)
     
  8. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your input everybody, I'm still thinking about which two to get all depends on how patient I can be since I am a bit low on funds.

    tk_saturn - Thanks for that reply, I'm not sure why it doesn't have the Toshiba logo but it's the card that came with my Motorola Droid phone. I appreciate your input.

    Dr.Aqua - Yeah I am a little low on funds, I guess that is why I made this topic maybe I guess I don't
    know to see if the DSTwo is recommended over the Acekard.

    Hakoda - I'm not interested in GBA or SNES emulation. Real Time Save and an in game menu would be nice but I don't think it'd be necessary for me. As for free cheats, I don't mind setting up enabling cheats before I start the game.
     
  9. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then I would get the Acekard. It's pointless paying for the DSTWO's extra features if you aren't going to use them.
     
  10. haddad

    Member haddad GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,519
    Country:
    Canada
    Its true, the Acekard2i is same thing as the DS2 but the DS2 has GBA emulation. I personally got a Acekard 2i cuz there is no point of buting the DS2 only got GBA emulation.

    btw u can still play GB/GBC games on the 2i >_
     
  11. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    There's a lot of brands that use Toshiba's cards, but rebrand them, like Kingston, HP, some Duracell cards, etc. Maybe nobody bothered to brand it because it came with your phone.
     
  12. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    no it's not
    stop making up complete crap
     
  13. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
     
  14. Tokyo Jihen

    Member Tokyo Jihen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I would just get an Acekard 2i then. I agree with tk_saturn, there's no point in paying $20 more for features you will probably never use. Or if you decide in the future that you would like to take advantage of the DSTWO's features, you'd only be down $15 [​IMG]
     
  15. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the replys everybody, I think what I am going to do is purchase an Acekard 2i for now since I just barely have enough extra money for it to use for the time being. Then I will just save up some more for a DSTwo in the future maybe.
     
  16. Dr.Aqua

    Member Dr.Aqua GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    ILol if you think about it its the same price

    SCDS2 35$
    Acekard2i 15$ + EZ 3 in 1 20$ = 35$

    The second solution offers a rumble pack, extra ram, and better GBA compatibility
    Of course you can only use that on DS lite
     
  17. xxteargodxx
    OP

    Member xxteargodxx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Just an update, I got my Acekard 2i I set it up and is working like a charm. Have had only a minor problem with Mario Kart glitching/freezing on me though it might be because I have a cheat to have red shells always turned on.

    Other than that I must say, I ordered from Real Hot Stuff they are based in NJ (Where I live) and was definitely worth paying the $4 extra bucks. My order got to me 1 day after I ordered it, absolutely amazing.
     
  18. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Just one thing: Make sure you're always running the latest AKAIO (1.7.1 as of now) with the latest loaders (here). With an up-to-date AKAIO, you should be able to play newer games without issue, and AKAIO doesn't need an external program to launch GBA games to a 3-in-1 (just select the .gba from the AKAIO menu).

    EDIT: small edit, due to confusion.
     
  19. tolana

    Newcomer tolana Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Denmark
    Congrats on your new Flashcard!
     
  20. Didu50

    Member Didu50 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Location:
    Onett
    Country:
    United States
    WTF. Akaio Can Run GBA Games?!
     

Share This Page