Homebrew Question Shockolate - System Shock

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
425
Country
United States
I was looking over game suggestion ports and saw Shockolate. Getting the game to 'play' was pretty trival. However, when I looked to mapping the game keys there are a lot of them (walk, run, dive, climb, bank, thrust, look, lean, jump, etc). Does anyone have suggestions for mapping the switch controller to the SS system. I have never played it so I dont really know what would work best.
 

Purple_Shyguy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
1,643
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Republic of Ireland
XP
2,736
Country
Not every binding is essential in these old games.

I've never played SS but I'd bet money that "lean" doesn't ever need to be used.

Also, you really ported System Shock to Switch? That's pretty great. Any screenshots?
 

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
425
Country
United States
Not every binding is essential in these old games.

I've never played SS but I'd bet money that "lean" doesn't ever need to be used.

Also, you really ported System Shock to Switch? That's pretty great. Any screenshots?

I got it to run, but non of the controller input works as the sdl version doesn't use the controller pad or joy pad, so I'm pretty sure it should work once the mapping works. The game controls seem to heavily use multiple modifiers which I think can be mapped to the triggers.
 

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
425
Country
United States
Will you be releasing this or was it not in a playable enough state? You've done good work lately capsterx! :bow:

I actually forget where I left off on this. I got sidetracked on a game that uses sqlite3 and it's driving me crazy I cannot get it to work. The database opens and nothing ever gets written into it and it errors out. Since I made this post I've made a pretty generic key/touch/mouse mapper which should let people create their own mappings instead of hardcoding them as I did in some of my early ports. I'll take a look sometime next week and see if it's as easy as plugging that into the event loop.
 

Basketto

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2019
Messages
553
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
569
Country
Australia
Idk if this helps, but since update 10.0.2 or so, you can map joycon buttons through system controller settings, and save a profile.
 

capsterx

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2020
Messages
147
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
425
Country
United States
Idk if this helps, but since update 10.0.2 or so, you can map joycon buttons through system controller settings, and save a profile.

It might! Though I think it likely still expects you to have a mouse/keyboard to setup the joycon, that's pretty normal assumption from what I've seen.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol