SDHC Card for Softmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CPTflconX, Dec 23, 2010.

Dec 23, 2010

SDHC Card for Softmod by CPTflconX at 5:53 PM (7,578 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. CPTflconX
    OP

    Newcomer CPTflconX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    I went to buy an SD Card for softmodding my wii 4.3. I went to the store and I accidently got an SDHC card. I was going to follow this guide
    http://gbatemp.net/t171901-modify-any-wii-4-3-below
    In the requirements it says
    "preferably non-sdhc"
    I have a 4GB SDHC card. Why is it preferably not SDHC card. Should I still use it?
     
  2. picano

    Member picano GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Country:
    United States
    Both homebrew and the wii itself used to be limited to non-HC cards. As such, some older games (notably Brawl) and homebrew may still lack / have shaky support for HC cards.

    I can't say whether or not it'll hinder initial setup but I know for sure that things like Brawl hacks which rely on SD loading (via the game's older standards) wouldn't work.
     
  3. CPTflconX
    OP

    Newcomer CPTflconX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    What do you recommend?
     
  4. Hozu

    Member Hozu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Country:
    Canada
    You won't be able to start hacking w/ an SDHC card, as Brawl specifically disables the use of them. Once you install the Homebrew Channel you'll be able to use it though, so if you can just borrow a non-HC SD card to use initially you'll be fine.
     
  5. CPTflconX
    OP

    Newcomer CPTflconX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    So I can use a SDHC for SSBB but I must use a SD Card for the softmod right?
    What size do I get the SD card?
     
  6. CPTflconX
    OP

    Newcomer CPTflconX Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    Also, a 4GB SDHC card wouldn't be enough for even 1 game right?
     
  7. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    I could not run hackmii with SDHC cards and i had to look old cards (non SDHC) and everything was fine
     

Share This Page