Screencapture

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by willy-wilson, Jul 23, 2010.

Jul 23, 2010

Screencapture by willy-wilson at 2:03 AM (1,126 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. willy-wilson
    OP

    Newcomer willy-wilson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Is there an app that can run in the background and take a screenshot of both screens with the press of a button? If not is this even possible?
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your best bet is to use an PC based emulator. Given it's additional processor, i'm guessing the DSTWO may technically be capable of doing that. You could ask on the supercard forums for it to be added as a feature.
     
  3. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    The only thing I know of is Moonshell, but that only takes screenshots of Moonshell.



    IIRC there are carts that have ingame menus, M3iZero I believe, that can do 'basic' stuff like cheats (and I think I heard they can open small text documents?) so it doesn't sound out of the realm of possibility... but improbable is more likely because it would have to be done at the flashcart level not application level.
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Well...there IS that $3000 machine...NITRO IS Capture or something...but that is a rare thing to come by and you supposedly can only get one if you are a developer. Apart from that, I've only heard of Moonshell2 having screencapture...(though probably M3Sakura and the EzFlashV have the ability possible since both are based off of MS2)
     
  5. harg

    Member harg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    Use a pc emulator and take a screenshot using Hypercam
     
  6. willy-wilson
    OP

    Newcomer willy-wilson Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Tucson AZ
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm well this would be an amazing thing because i got the model viewer working but it would be better if it would capture the screen and save it to a card so i wouldn't get banding errors (note this model is not mine i just used it for testing purposes)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    If you're writing the DS homebrew program yourself, you can code in the ability to take screenshots, as there's a built-in function in libnds to do that. It will take a screenshot of the main screen (which you as the programmer have defined).

    If you're trying to get screenshots of something that doesn't have that ability already coded in (such as any commercial game) then it's not going to be possible unless a flash cart maker adds the ability to their own cart. Because the DS only runs one application at a time, you're not going to see a generic "screenshot taker.nds" program that can grab screenshots of Mario Kart DS or anything like that.
     
  8. harg

    Member harg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    United States
    Yer right.I'll Try that with my games.
     

Share This Page