SCDS2 SFC EMU v1.06

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Another World, Nov 10, 2010.

Nov 10, 2010

SCDS2 SFC EMU v1.06 by Another World at 1:33 AM (2,889 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Another World
    OP

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    [​IMG] SCDS2 SFC EMU v1.06
    Unofficial Update
    [​IMG]

    The SFC EMU v1.06 source code has been released and BassAceGold has made some unofficial changes to the emulator. No official change log for version 1.06 has been released, the change log below is for the unofficial version only.



    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Project Post
     
  2. Ron

    Member Ron somehow a weeb now.

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    here
    Country:
    Canada
    Ehh, well, small changes, won't be dling
     
  3. hullo8d

    Member hullo8d GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    This was left out of changelog
     
  4. Stevetry

    Banned Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Puertorico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    how do i install this
     
  5. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just installed and then booted it, I'm greeted by a frozen menu screen.
    I managed to get it to respond on a third boot, but that's not good.

    Edit: The "Recently player Games" list has ActRaiser (U).zip in it, despite the fact I've NEVER played that.
     
  6. BassAceGold

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry about that, Might have to delete the NDSSFC.CFG file and reboot. If anything that would be the source of the freezing as I have had positive feedback from other users.

    For those who already have the emulator installed, you just need to copy the .plg to your card, those who don't have it already installed will have to delete the NDSSFC.CFG after copying everything over.
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I deleted that and reinstalled, and it's working smooth now.
    CPU Freq 5 has given a big performance boost to Super Mario Allstars, it's remarkably smooth now!

    Actually I have a request, can you work on improving the scaling/display modes?
    Being able to adjust scaling and screen position independantly would be a godsend.

    What's current:
    Display mode 0/1/2/3/4

    What should be:
    Scaling 0%/25%/50%/75%/100% (shave 64/48/32/16/0 vertical pixels)
    Screen position Centred/Top Middle/Top/Bottom Middle/Bottom

    If that can be done, it's be marvelous.
     
  8. Presto99

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    I think this is cool; an update not even from the official team!
     
  9. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, does this mean they gave out the source for it? Not asking for it, just curious. Also, thanks for the update. [​IMG]
     
  10. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't noticed any improvement but this gives my hope that some day this isn't going to suck.
     
  11. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,623
    Country:
    United States
    Same.
     
  12. goncalodoom

    Member goncalodoom GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    great update,no freezes for now [​IMG]
     
  13. BassAceGold

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada

    Fixing the display won't be easy. Currently the emulator handles scaling line by line which is convenient because the DS has the same horizontal resolution as the most common snes resolution. In order to get proper scaling, one would have to be able to scale horizontally and vertically which would have to be a pixel per pixel copy job and would cause a massive slow down. Currently I am testing such method (pixel per pixel) and even with cpu speed set to 5 and audio disabled, most games are unplayable. Sadly I don't think this emulator will get perfect scaling.
     
  14. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,300
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    so now we have better game compatibility for the SNES? this is great its been open sourced
     
  15. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it really that much of an issue? SNEmulDS has its own way of letting you postion and scale the screens any way you want, quite effectively.
    Or is the method employed different? I don't really understand why horizontal scaling is even necessary.
     
  16. BassAceGold

    Member BassAceGold Testicles

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    Canada
    SNemulDS has access to the DS's video hardware to render and scale, on the DSTwo everything is done on the CPU. BTW I have updated the emulator to 1.07 and it does have a video mode with scaling so you can see how it runs. Its not pretty but it works.
     
  17. goncalodoom

    Member goncalodoom GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    can u had snesadvance.dat compatibility?it would help increase some speed on the games,just like the psp snes emulator
     

Share This Page