Safe Mode - GPU error

Discussion in 'PS Vita - Games & Content' started by BrightNeko, Oct 5, 2012.

Oct 5, 2012

Safe Mode - GPU error by BrightNeko at 3:23 PM (1,007 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. BrightNeko
    OP

    Member BrightNeko Popcorn ball

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Though I would share and warn about this. Freaked me and my friend out.

    So I bought New little king story yesterday and today I let a friend play it. They were early in the game having just only 5 people to their command. Chores were coming up so I made them stop for awhile. When they returned to the game and started loading their data the system crashed, the screen went completely black and had GPU error in white text with some error code. After that the system shut down and the PS icon started blinking rapidly. Like it does when low on battery but much faster. It took a few minutes but finally it turned off. When I turned it back on it was in safe mode. Options were along the line of.
    Restart PSvita system
    Rebuild database
    Format memorycard
    4th option I can't recall
    Perform system update.
    I restarted the system, and it made me send an error report to sony.
    [​IMG]

    Afterwards we tried to replicate the error but just couldn't do it. My friend was using the touch screen, he was loading he data from the start menu, and the background for the kingdom was night showing my own kingdom.

    If you run into it, just hold down the power button. It takes awhile but eventually it will go off.
     
  2. GameWinner

    Member GameWinner Take your heart

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like trouble.
    I wonder what caused it so I can try to avoid it but I guess it's a random error..
     
  3. roastable

    Member roastable GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    Canada
    Holding the power button for 30 seconds always puts the system in safe mode. I just thought I'd put that out there for anybody who might not know. Helped me a lot whenever it would freeze from using Urbanix.
    But yeah, that's a weird error.
     
  4. luiscesjr

    Newcomer luiscesjr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    I've seen some people getting the same problem but while playing LBP, and they were mostly on 1.81 firmware.
    Maybe it's the new FW problem because there are also people reporting this while playing other games such
    as Madden and Unit 13, but most common is LPB.

    Sony's advice is " Wipe the entire game data". But I highly doubt it's game related, after reading all of this.
     
  5. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    I had this happen with an earlier firmware,maybe the 2nd release. I remember my friend was playing the Unit 13 Demo at work on lunch and just randomly the screen went black and the system would not respond.

    I do not think that I had to send an error report though.
     
  6. BrightNeko
    OP

    Member BrightNeko Popcorn ball

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    It's good to know its happening with other games, been kind of scared to play little king story since it happened. If it is just a firmware thing then hopefully it will be fixed soon, god forbid it is a console problem.
     

Share This Page