RIP MY R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Crocker, Apr 17, 2010.

Apr 17, 2010

RIP MY R4 by Crocker at 11:49 AM (2,351 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Crocker
    OP

    Newcomer Crocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay so my r4 is basically dead i dunno how but i want to get a new flashcard
    now i only use the flash card to play games without the hastle of freezing and ap so which is the best flash card for me and where can i get hold of one
     


  2. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Go for an Acekard 2i, if you want GBA+SNES+NDS wait for the supercard DS2
     
  3. Crocker
    OP

    Newcomer Crocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh ok thankyou but whats supervard ds2
     
  4. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
  5. Hotzdevil

    Member Hotzdevil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Dimapur, Nagaland
    Country:
    India
    until that time get wood for your r4 and you needn't face freezes for the latest games, at least till SMT: SJ
     
  6. Flamestar666

    Newcomer Flamestar666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Well before you go off and spend money on a new card, why don't you explain what's wrong with it?
     
  7. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    topic says all? All R4's are destined to fail,and his was today(or recently [​IMG])
     
  8. Crocker
    OP

    Newcomer Crocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok thankyou guys i think the supercard is out of my price range but the acecard 2i looks quite good would that be able to play pokemon silver without freezing
     
  9. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    how about another r4? hahahaha
    yeah ak2i would be a good choice
     
  10. Crocker
    OP

    Newcomer Crocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well basicly the gold bit that reads the data on the ds(i dunno what you call it)is coming off and its going green
    and when i go to turn it on the ds cant find it
     
  11. Flamestar666

    Newcomer Flamestar666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Contacts is the word you're looking for.
    I had a similar problem on another card.
    Find a small screw driver, and open up your card. Clean the contacts with a dry cotton swab (being careful not to damage any of the parts on the the board) and put a small piece of paper behind the contacts underneath the board itself. No paper should be not be sticking out of the card at all.

    Close it back up, and hope that it works.
     
  12. Crocker
    OP

    Newcomer Crocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  13. HelpDesk

    Newcomer HelpDesk Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,

    The gold bits are the contacts, the exact same thing happened to my little brothers' TTDS's, it's just basic wear and tear on the hardware from sliding in and out of DS's, and when there's no contact the DS doesn't see anything there, thus the insert card message. It starts with trouble reading from time to time then needs replacing. Strangely enough, my R4 i got when first released still works fine, however i've upgraded to the Acekard2i anyway, it's a much better card with AKAIO. And ShopTemp, GBATemps shop offers a great price with free shipping, but for a buck you can have it sent with the box, i can't reccomend it highly enough.

    Oh and as for games, no card currently has a better firmware in AKAIO or gets better support than the Acekard2i, so if something doesn't work, it's a much shorter wait than anything else out there. And it's compatible with DSi, DSiXL.

    Cheers. [​IMG]
     
  14. Crocker
    OP

    Newcomer Crocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    kk thankyou
     
  15. Flamestar666

    Newcomer Flamestar666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't want to spend the money to get a better quality card, try giving it a fix.
    Otherwise, Acekard2i is an amazing card and I recommend it to everyone I know.
     
  16. Wasmachinemann

    Member Wasmachinemann GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    in the front of my game pc.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Crocker
    OP

    Newcomer Crocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wheres the best place to buy an acecard 2i
     
  18. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    i would say gameKool
     
  19. Crocker
    OP

    Newcomer Crocker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou does acecard fix anti piracy
     
  20. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    yes it gets fixes the fastest
     

Share This Page