Hardware Rig Build Question

uberpubert69

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
231
Trophies
0
XP
311
Country
United States
I recently upgraded my gaming rig and am trying to get as much fps as I can get out of it.
These are my PC specs:

APU: A10 5800k 4.2GHz Quad Core Processor w/intergrated Radeon 7660D GPU
RAM: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz 1.5v
PSU: 550W
MotherBoard: GIGABYTE F2A85XM-D3H

I have a NVIDIA GeForce 9800GT Graphics Card just laying around and was wondering if I should put it into my computer? Or is it just too old nowadays?
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
692
Country
United States
If you want to boost gaming performance, get faster RAM (1866 & 2133 all helps). There is no point in getting dedicated GPU if you are using APU.
 

uberpubert69

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
231
Trophies
0
XP
311
Country
United States
If you want to boost gaming performance, get faster RAM (1866 & 2133 all helps). There is no point in getting dedicated GPU if you are using APU.
The reason I got the APU is because I wanted to have something to hold me over until I could buy a better GPU. I know about the RAM mine actually have heatsinks that wrap around the entire sticks and are easily overclockable (from what I researched about them). I have a bit of a problem when it comes to overclocking btw. My motherboard bios is made for easy overclocking but if I overclock anything even by just 1mhz my bios tells me the OS couldnt boot. Do I have to reset my CMOS or something?
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
692
Country
United States
The reason I got the APU is because I wanted to have something to hold me over until I could buy a better GPU. I know about the RAM mine actually have heatsinks that wrap around the entire sticks and are easily overclockable (from what I researched about them). I have a bit of a problem when it comes to overclocking btw. My motherboard bios is made for easy overclocking but if I overclock anything even by just 1mhz my bios tells me the OS couldnt boot. Do I have to reset my CMOS or something?
Then you should have bought Intel Pentium/Core i3 instead (or FX-43xx with that Nvidia 9800GT). No offense but APU is designed for those who know for sure that they don't need a dedicated GPU. If you are going to spend more money it completely defeats the purpose of APU.

Overclocking varies a lot. When online says this particular RAM is an overclocker they mean that in general, more people have success with overclocking this RAM than those who don't. It does NOT mean you will enjoy the same overclocking success. If you can't get OS booting after boosting voltage to 1.65 V or relax some timing then you have no choice but to run that RAM at stock speed.
 

uberpubert69

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
231
Trophies
0
XP
311
Country
United States
Then you should have bought Intel Pentium/Core i3 instead (or FX-43xx with that Nvidia 9800GT). No offense but APU is designed for those who know for sure that they don't need a dedicated GPU. If you are going to spend more money it completely defeats the purpose of APU.

Overclocking varies a lot. When online says this particular RAM is an overclocker they mean that in general, more people have success with overclocking this RAM than those who don't. It does NOT mean you will enjoy the same overclocking success. If you can't get OS booting after boosting voltage to 1.65 V or relax some timing then you have no choice but to run that RAM at stock speed.

I understand the concept of overclocking, I'm just not really used to messing with it (I've read my motherboards manual). I initially didn't plan on having this 9800GT, it was to be sold to a buddy but is now just sitting here. For the money, I found getting an APU to be a good choice for me newegg had a sweet deal. I didn't have the money to shell out for a CPU, RAM, GPU, and Motherboard(Upgraded from a Dell). So I got the APU to relieve my stressed budget. It was either get an APU or not have a working computer for god knows how long.
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
692
Country
United States
I understand the concept of overclocking, I'm just not really used to messing with it (I've read my motherboards manual). I initially didn't plan on having this 9800GT, it was to be sold to a buddy but is now just sitting here. For the money, I found getting an APU to be a good choice for me newegg had a sweet deal. I didn't have the money to shell out for a CPU, RAM, GPU, and Motherboard(Upgraded from a Dell). So I got the APU to relieve my stressed budget. It was either get an APU or not have a working computer for god knows how long.
You know, I'm more concerned about what PSU you are using right now. Also tell me what RAM stick is it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: uberpubert69

uberpubert69

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
231
Trophies
0
XP
311
Country
United States
Alright, try this overclocking settings,

1866 @ 11-11-11-28-2N @ 1.6 V.

This is a very loosen overclocking settings. Make sure XMP is turned on.
One thing I forgot to mention is that the RAM is underclocked at ~1400mhz. I will try those settings and get back to you on the results.

EDIT: I was able to boot my PC and the overclock seems to work. But I used CPUZ and it tells me my RAM is at 1500Mhz now instead of 1333. not 1866... Was also unable to turn on the XMP setting.
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
692
Country
United States
One thing I forgot to mention is that the RAM is underclocked at ~1400mhz. I will try those settings and get back to you on the results.

EDIT: I was able to boot my PC and the overclock seems to work. But I used CPUZ and it tells me my RAM is at 1500Mhz now instead of 1333. not 1866... Was also unable to turn on the XMP setting.
Upload the screenshot of CPU-Z.
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
692
Country
United States
That's normal. Did you see that DRAM frequency 931.6 MHz? Since you are in dual channel that frequency is halved.

In other words, 931.6 MHz x 2 = 1863.2 MHz. The RAM is working in 1866 configuration.

Next step would be to ensure that memory is stable. Burn memtest86 on to a CD and boot into it. Let it run for 24 hours (obviously you can't use your PC during stress time so plan ahead).
 
  • Like
Reactions: uberpubert69

uberpubert69

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
231
Trophies
0
XP
311
Country
United States
That's normal. Did you see that DRAM frequency 931.6 MHz? Since you are in dual channel that frequency is halved.

In other words, 931.6 MHz x 2 = 1863.2 MHz. The RAM is working in 1866 configuration.

Next step would be to ensure that memory is stable. Burn memtest86 on to a CD and boot into it. Let it run for 24 hours (obviously you can't use your PC during stress time so plan ahead).
The RAM seems to be stable. Thank you very much for the help!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://i.imgur.com/VfJ7tVm.jpeg