PS1/2 Resident Evil's backups on modchipped PS2

Ogs

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
66
Country
United Kingdom
Just bought a PS2 from a reputable modder, appears to have a Matrix modchip inside. Immediately went to try Resident Evil 1, and found the disc drive just making some noise, and greeted by a black screen. Tried RE2, same thing, and also RE3. Disapointed, I thought it might be the laser on it's way out, or the media I was using wasnt up to snuff. Tried a couple of other brands, no dice. Got some Verbatim discs, and RE1 booted up finally! ......... and since then no longer will boot up.

Cleaned both lenses and the rails, no difference. So I thought sod it lets try Tony Hawks. WORKS FLAWLESSLY, no difference in burn settings or disc media (16x speed minimum on my writer, also tried 8x speed on another computer, no change), just works every time. Same with other games I have since tried, THPS2, Tenchu and Medal of Honor. (Note - Original PS1/PS2 games work, along with backup PS2 games).

So im pretty damn confused about why RE1/2/3 are different than the rest. I have found 2 other forum posts around the web with others saying they are having similar problems, and again, everything else works fine, it's just these 3 games.

The model I have is a SCPH-39003. I'm a little bit gutted, as these were the ones I really wanted to play on it.
 

Necron

Lurking~
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2008
Messages
1,037
Trophies
0
Location
Mi casa
XP
1,533
Country
Chile
I see you have a UK flag. Well, the PAL versions of RE1-2-3 come with protection patches, so you need to patch them before to be able to play.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,568
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
16,567
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

Just bought a PS2 from a reputable modder, appears to have a Matrix modchip inside. Immediately went to try Resident Evil 1, and found the disc drive just making some noise, and greeted by a black screen. Tried RE2, same thing, and also RE3. Disapointed, I thought it might be the laser on it's way out, or the media I was using wasnt up to snuff. Tried a couple of other brands, no dice. Got some Verbatim discs, and RE1 booted up finally! ......... and since then no longer will boot up.

Cleaned both lenses and the rails, no difference. So I thought sod it lets try Tony Hawks. WORKS FLAWLESSLY, no difference in burn settings or disc media (16x speed minimum on my writer, also tried 8x speed on another computer, no change), just works every time. Same with other games I have since tried, THPS2, Tenchu and Medal of Honor. (Note - Original PS1/PS2 games work, along with backup PS2 games).

So im pretty damn confused about why RE1/2/3 are different than the rest. I have found 2 other forum posts around the web with others saying they are having similar problems, and again, everything else works fine, it's just these 3 games.

The model I have is a SCPH-39003. I'm a little bit gutted, as these were the ones I really wanted to play on it.

If it is really Matrix then try the following Combinations please:

Boot the PS2 directly into PlayStation Mode by pressing/holding the
circle.png
Button when you powering on the PlayStation 2 (Game should already inserted please)

It that is not working please enter the Matrix Settings Menu by pressing/holding the
triangle.png
+
circle.png
Buttons on Power Up.

Matrix_Infinity_Bootmenue.jpg


and maybe try/set the PSX Screen Fix to ON please.
Please use "good" CD-Rs like Verbatim and burn the Games if possbile not faster as with 4x Speed please.

Good Luck.
Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: slaphappygamer

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Imola
XP
6,333
Country
Italy
As far as I know, modchip protection prevents even legit discs from working
The American style antipiracy does, the European kind (libcrypt) stores data in nonstandard ECC sectors (the kind ECM scrubbing removes, and a consumer drive can't arbitrarily write anyway) and will always pass on (good quality) original discs, because blocking legitimate originals on the basis of a 3rd party accessory would be against free trade :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,936
Trophies
1
XP
12,929
Country
United States
well, dino crisis has a garbled image with a bunch of Chinese text. it's so garbled that you can't make out the characters. the ntsc usa version's patch didn't work, so I got the european version, combined both bins, made a cue file, then patched it with the european patch. this is what I got:

20200727_153515_HDR.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,568
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
16,567
Country
Austria
Just bought a PS2 from a reputable modder, appears to have a Matrix modchip inside. Immediately went to try Resident Evil 1, and found the disc drive just making some noise, and greeted by a black screen. Tried RE2, same thing, and also RE3. Disapointed, I thought it might be the laser on it's way out, or the media I was using wasnt up to snuff. Tried a couple of other brands, no dice. Got some Verbatim discs, and RE1 booted up finally! ......... and since then no longer will boot up.

Cleaned both lenses and the rails, no difference. So I thought sod it lets try Tony Hawks. WORKS FLAWLESSLY, no difference in burn settings or disc media (16x speed minimum on my writer, also tried 8x speed on another computer, no change), just works every time. Same with other games I have since tried, THPS2, Tenchu and Medal of Honor. (Note - Original PS1/PS2 games work, along with backup PS2 games).

So im pretty damn confused about why RE1/2/3 are different than the rest. I have found 2 other forum posts around the web with others saying they are having similar problems, and again, everything else works fine, it's just these 3 games.

The model I have is a SCPH-39003. I'm a little bit gutted, as these were the ones I really wanted to play on it.


Hello.:)

I tried it with an SCPH-77004 and (I think) a Matrix Chip.

P1370334.JPG P1370335.JPG

It could also be a Modbo (Clone),the only Way to find it out is to open the PlayStation 2.:)

It is pretty sure as @Ryccardo explained.

The American style antipiracy does, the European kind (libcrypt) stores data in nonstandard ECC sectors (the kind ECM scrubbing removes, and a consumer drive can't arbitrarily write anyway) and will always pass on (good quality) original discs, because blocking legitimate originals on the basis of a 3rd party accessory would be against free trade :D


And maybe in Combination with the Drive
Burned CD´s are always a little "picky" with the Slim PlayStation 2.You have an Phat Modell but it could also be possible.
Maybe a little Adjustment can also help (there are two Screws on the Laser usually marked with DVD and CD).

I used

- US Resident Evil 2 Dual Shock (I think it was burned 4 Years ago...)
- Resident Evil Directors Cut German from today (16x Speed)
- Resident Evil 2 German also 4 Years "old"

The Results are as expected,the US Version was "stubborn" but finally it also worked
Honestly I tried it the first Time to play PlayStation 1 Backup Games on an PlayStation 2.
Usually I use it only on the PSX.:)

A little Video from the "Test" if you like.

Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,936
Trophies
1
XP
12,929
Country
United States
Hello.:)

I tried it with an SCPH-77004 and (I think) a Matrix Chip.

View attachment 224383 View attachment 224384

It could also be a Modbo (Clone),the only Way to find it out is to open the PlayStation 2.:)

It is pretty sure as @Ryccardo explained.




And maybe in Combination with the Drive
Burned CD´s are always a little "picky" with the Slim PlayStation 2.You have an Phat Modell but it could also be possible.
Maybe a little Adjustment can also help (there are two Screws on the Laser usually marked with DVD and CD).

I used

- US Resident Evil 2 Dual Shock (I think it was burned 4 Years ago...)
- Resident Evil Directors Cut German from today (16x Speed)
- Resident Evil 2 German also 4 Years "old"

The Results are as expected,the US Version was "stubborn" but finally it also worked
Honestly I tried it the first Time to play PlayStation 1 Backup Games on an PlayStation 2.
Usually I use it only on the PSX.:)

A little Video from the "Test" if you like.

Thank you.:)

you can usually tell if it's a legit matrix infinity or a clone. if it says 1.99, it's probably a clone. I think the highest official firmware is 1.93. don't update if you don't know or you'll brick.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,936
Trophies
1
XP
12,929
Country
United States
I meant to say you could brick. the capcom modchip protection sometimes doesn't work. I don't know why, but that could explain it working once or it being "stubborn."
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,568
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
16,567
Country
Austria
I meant to say you could brick. the capcom modchip protection sometimes doesn't work. I don't know why, but that could explain it working once or it being "stubborn."

Correct,I never had noticed such "Issues" between PAL/US Games because,as said,always play on the PSX with Bootchip.
If I remember correct,the only Resident Evil Game which needed an "patched" ISO was the EU Version(s) from Resident Evil 3.:)

Dino Crisis...I am not sure....:unsure:
But yes,possible.....
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,568
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
16,567
Country
Austria
I wasted multiple discs on dino crisis. I didn't even know there was modchip protection a few months ago.
Now you talk about yes,I remember.
The Resident Evil and Dino Crisis was some "rare" PSX Games where the Original Games was available on my Side.vain.gif
So I made my own Backups and sold them (the original Games,of course),not testing the Backup´s before.....
Yeah,now I remember it too,thank you,my Friend,I had already repressed it.laughing.gif
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,936
Trophies
1
XP
12,929
Country
United States
Now you talk about yes,I remember.
The Resident Evil and Dino Crisis was some "rare" PSX Games where the Original Games was available on my Side.View attachment 224385
So I made my own Backups and sold them (the original Games,of course),not testing the Backup´s before.....
Yeah,now I remember it too,thank you,my Friend,I had already repressed it.View attachment 224386

I have no idea what the deal with the usa patch was. for some reason, it couldn't patch the game. I even tried using the patch on another game, mega man x6, and it patched it like nothing was wrong. lol it had no checksum to see if I was patching the right game.

I'm in a great mood tonight. :D
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

Ogs

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2020
Messages
8
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
66
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for the replies :) Been trying some more things (older writers, slower speeds), and have only been using Verbatim discs, but so far it really is just these Resident Evil's refusing to boot. I gave Dino Crisis a go, that boots but into the anti piracy screen, so I patched the bin file and that works perfectly now.

Tried holding circle on boot, no difference. All the options in the Matrix menu were on, so I tried a variety of off/on, still cant get them to boot. In the menu is shows Matrix v3.1m USBADV Edition, and when booting a PS2 game on the PS2 logo, it shows v1.93. Not sure what USBADV Edition actually means however.

I'm also using NTSC USA versions of the Resi's. I own UK PAL copies of them, but I wanted to go NTSC in order to have full screen/full speed as intended (something as simple as the footsteps really shows how slowed down the PAL versions were). For the brief moment Resi 1 worked, it was glorious seeing the game as intended.

I noticed a couple of quirks on other games. MGS for example, doesnt show in proper full screen, it's like its still in PAL mode, and shifted higher up the screen. Same with Dino Crisis on the main menu, but as soon as I enter gameplay, everything gets set correctly (and when I use the ingame reset, the main menu displays correctly).

I never had a modchipped PS2 back in the day, so finding all these quirky things about them is interesting :)
 

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,936
Trophies
1
XP
12,929
Country
United States
the ps2 is a stubborn device. I've seen some games refuse to play correctly, skip, etc. while other games work flawlessly. the one game I could never burn is mega man anniversary collection. it would skip heavily in the opening cutscene. the original disc runs perfectly though.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

btw try force dvd mode with circle at boot. it forces the psx game to be read as dvd. it's just a thought.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,568
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
16,567
Country
Austria
Tried holding circle on boot, no difference. All the options in the Matrix menu were on, so I tried a variety of off/on, still cant get them to boot. In the menu is shows Matrix v3.1m USBADV Edition, and when booting a PS2 game on the PS2 logo, it shows v1.93. Not sure what USBADV Edition actually means however.
As suspected,a Modbo/Clone Chip.

So "Issues" are maybe "programmed"....:(
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu: Though the bed in the Guest Bedroom is so large there's ironically not much space leftover...