Resident Evil Archives

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ganons, Jun 26, 2009.

Jun 26, 2009

Resident Evil Archives by ganons at 12:41 PM (2,453 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So this game is not fullscreen infact its a square box on a widescreen and no 480p support. Is there a way this can be patched to be fullscreen?
     
  2. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    No. It's a Gamecube port, and the Gamecube version was 4/3. Since all the backgrounds are prerendered, Capcom would have needed to redesign and re-render the whole game from scratch. This would pretty much guarantee the game would never get released, because that's far too much expense to put into a port of an old Gamecube game.

    Best you can do is go into your Wii options and set it to 4/3. This way, the game won't automatically add the black bars on the sides, and your tv can stretch the display to fill the screen. But you'll be fighting fat zombies.
     
  3. Col70

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...wait!

    The GC version runs un full screen without changing any settings!
     
  4. oiraMoiraM

    Newcomer oiraMoiraM Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Germany
    that's because the gc has no 16:9?!?
     
  5. s0nicfreak

    Newcomer s0nicfreak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    near chicago
    Country:
    United States
    So play it on a gamecube if that bothers you
     
  6. Vegeta

    Member Vegeta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Change your Wii settings to 4:3 and the game will display close to full screen but the image will appear squished on a widescreen TV like all 4:3 games on 16:9 TVs.
     
  7. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there any usb loaders that allow u to change the aspect ratio?
     
  8. rustybanana

    Member rustybanana GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No sadly not, Its something you will need to change every time on the wii settings [​IMG]
     
  9. Tetram

    Member Tetram GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    France
    Actually, I tried the PAL version on my Wii, and my TV said it was 480p.

    But unfortunately, it is still blury, like the 480p from Zelda TP Pal.
     
  10. Vegeta

    Member Vegeta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, there is 480p support on the Wii RE1 and it does look blurrier at 480p but there is none of that ugly dithering the GC version suffers from.
     
  11. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone looked at this game with WiiScrubber yet? Would it be possible to patch it so it boots in standard resolution rather than with the "widescreen support"?
     
  12. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i guess not
     
  13. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,490
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Who care?! Why are you complaint about it ? The square box on a widescreen bother you ? What about the movie ? Same thing. Stop complaint! You should thanks Capcom for bring it to the USA for Wii version anyway!!!!!!!!!!
     
  14. rustybanana

    Member rustybanana GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    YES IT DOES BOTHER ME! Borders top and bottom like a movie arent a problem, When you have borders either side is when it starts to piss me off, As for thanking Capcom for a lazy port? Are you kidding me?

    I really hope this bombs at retail then maybe they will see that sticking a resident evil logo and capcom on the box dosnt make it a must have title! [​IMG]
     
  15. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    The game was advertised as having "widescreen support". That is what I went to the store at midnight June 22 and paid for. So yes, it does bother me that I paid $30 for an "updated" version of a game I already owned under the pretense that it offered widescreen but only fills up half my TV screen.

    Anyways, is it possible to adjust anything with WiiScrubber so it boots in "standard" resolution and not "widescreen"? The disc has to have a check of some sort that tells the system to boot it with the widescreen support.
     
  16. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    guess no one wants to help or maybe its not possible
     

Share This Page