Reinstalling System Menu then Brick!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by franz029, Jul 27, 2010.

Jul 27, 2010
  1. franz029
    OP

    Newcomer franz029 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    Can somebody help me because i was gonna remove the custom theme so i just decided to go back to the original theme by reinstalling the whole system menu by wad manager so after i uninstall then install it, what is happens to my wii is just showing a black screen and I have bootmii installed on it but i don't know how to boot it up...PLEASE HELP ME & REPLY ANYONE! [​IMG]
     


  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You just bricked yourself. You should have overwritten your systemmenu, not delete it.

    Do you have Bootmii as Boot2, or IOS ?

    If IOS, I guess your screwed.
     
  3. g4jek8j54

    Member g4jek8j54 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    459
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have BootMii installed as an IOS or boot2? Do you have a NAND backup, and your keys?

    If you have BootMii as boot2, do you have a "bootmii" folder on the root of your SD card?
     
  4. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    you should probably imitate Walker's avatar after that smooth move [​IMG]
     
  5. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Come on man, give the guy a break. How would you feel if that happened to you ?
     
  6. joelozy

    Newcomer joelozy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have PriiLoader? Or better yet, BootMii as an boot2. I guess if you only had BootMii IOS, then you could go into it through Priiloader?
     
  7. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Uh, no. Priiloader will do NO good in this situation. Uninstalling System Menu will remove Priiloader. Unless you have BootMii/boot2, you can only fix it with a NAND programmer (which requires you to buy a NAND programmer, take your Wii apart, solder stuff, and flash stuff to the NAND, preferably a NAND dump taken with BootMii/IOS. This process requires a fair bit of skill with soldering AFAIK).
     
  8. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370
    Country:
    Sweden
    There is one guy in US that can fix this kind of issues as SifJar said.
    But I better let him post in here if he can/want to.

    EDIT: XFlak just posted his info [​IMG]
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if u don't have a vulnerable boot1 (ie. if bootmii can only be installed as IOS), a nand dump is REQUIRED to use infectus to fix this brick

    if u have a nand dump, email deadlyfoez@yahoo.com, and he will take very good care of you

    edit: of course if u have bootmii as boot2 INSTALLED, u can fix this yourself
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
  11. joelozy

    Newcomer joelozy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I was thinking about a Banner brick.
     
  12. franz029
    OP

    Newcomer franz029 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    I have a bootmii folder on my SD card but I don't know how to launch that...
     
  13. mestapho

    Member mestapho GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a bootmii folder on the root of your sd card that is properly titled then
    you have bootmii installed as ios. If you had bootmii installed as boot2, with a bootmii folder on
    the root of your sd card, it would autoload to bootmii on startup. Looks like you should follow xflak's advice.
     
  14. franz029
    OP

    Newcomer franz029 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    But is there a way of setting the bootmii as IOS to autoboot? because I see something in my Wii's SD Card that it has something a "bootmii.ini" but I don't think that would work...
     
  15. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    No. Only the boot2 version runs at startup.

    Priiloader is required if you want Bootmii IOS to be useful for unbricking.
     
  16. mestapho

    Member mestapho GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Country:
    United States
    Even that wouldn't matter as he erased his SM. Only hope AFAIK is an infectus as mentioned above.
     
  17. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Agreed. Still useless if he deleted the SM...

    As for an infectus...probably not worth it. He'd probably be better off sending it to Nintendo. Since it's fully bricked, they'll probably replace it.
     
  18. bwillb

    Member bwillb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    they can find illegal content without a system menu. you'd just waste time and get it sent back, unfixed.
     
  19. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    They are not going to dump his nand and examine it, he would do well to send it to N.
     
  20. dronesplitter

    Member dronesplitter GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    533
    Country:
    United States
    Does IOS Bootmii put a bootmii folder on your card? Maybe he just deleted his armboot.bin or ppcboot.elf files. Unlikely, I guess.
     

Share This Page