RawDump 2.0 Help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by RhiGhost, Oct 27, 2008.

Oct 27, 2008

RawDump 2.0 Help by RhiGhost at 7:55 AM (2,565 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. RhiGhost
    OP

    Member RhiGhost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    OK, so today I got my LG drive, downloaded ImgBurn, and Rawdump and set it up to backup
    my Mortal Kombat Armageddon game. It took about 2 hours which is alot quicker than I was expecting,
    anyway I clicked the Start Dump button but it didn't give me any options or tell me where the game files
    were being sent to. I've read instructions on how to use Rawdump and they say the game files go to the
    same directory as the rawdump.exe file but its not there! I've tried searching for the game name but nothing comes
    up. Any ideas on whats going on?

    Edit: I'm using windows XP.
     
  2. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I have used Rawdump numerous times and it always dumps to the same directory. Not sure what is wrong with yours.
     
  3. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    maybe there was an error and didn't complete the dump... try it again and see what happens
     
  4. RhiGhost
    OP

    Member RhiGhost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Must have been someting to do with .Net framework versions. I already had the service pack 1 installed so I uninstalled that and installed the basic .net framework 2.0 and it works fine now.
     
  5. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you know you can also dump games using the wii itself?
     
  6. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    how long does that take, on average?
     
  7. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Umeå
    Country:
    Sweden
    My Wi-Fi at home runs this at about 500KB/s. With WODs being 4.5GB, about 2,5h/game.
     
  8. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Umeå
    Country:
    Sweden
    Haven't tried it, but you are supposed to be able to dump directly to a USB Mass Storage device, with the same app, which'll probably be faster.
     
  9. RhiGhost
    OP

    Member RhiGhost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    This is the only way I understood how to backup games. But now that I've been trying
    I find that I must not have understood as much as I thought! [​IMG]
    I'm using 2 computers. One with the LG drive it in to copy the game and the other with a
    dvd-r compatible burning drive to burn the game. But I've come across another problem,
    I can't move the game .ISO! I'm using a 120GB portable hard drive to try and move the file but I keep
    getting the message that my hard drive doesn't have enough free space on it, when I know there is 80GB free! Can someone please help me lol. Any reason it would do this? Is is possible to write games to a dvd+rw?
     
  10. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    Umeå
    Country:
    Sweden
    Your external hdd is probably formatted as FAT32 which can't handle files larger than 4GB. You need to either reformat it as NTFS, transfer the file over network, or split the iso. Splitting is easiest accomplished by rar-ing it without compression into several parts.
     
  11. guihome

    Newcomer guihome Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    you hard drive must be formated fat32 wich mean file max =4gb not 4.37gb you have to format it ntfs
     
  12. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/s...anced/ntfs.mspx

    go here and the "convert" part is what you need to do
     
  13. RhiGhost
    OP

    Member RhiGhost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for the quick help guys. The problem wasn't that the drives was fat32,
    its factory default is ntfs, but it was set to only accept files under 4GB. I have now
    set it to accept files up to 10GB [​IMG] Thanks again for your help.
     
  14. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    no problem [​IMG]
     

Share This Page