Rage installation question.

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by test84, Mar 23, 2012.

Mar 23, 2012

Rage installation question. by test84 at 6:20 AM (724 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Hi,

    My console is a phat 20Gb premium and in order to have best texture performance for Rage, I've read that you have to install all 3 discs, even if you want to play singleplayer. So problem is my HDD has 13Gb free space at most (since Xbox takes 7Gb and uses it as cache), so is it possible to install two discs on my HDD and one of them on a flash memory attached to console?

    -txn!
     
  2. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Dear god, I never knew you console users had it so bad o.o

    I THINK it is, I am assuming Rage uses multi-disk loading? Like an intermission between disks? If so, you should be able to. I can have a game installed to the HDD, another to a flash drive, and another to an external HDD, and it picks the right game off of each one.
     
  3. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    360 users. PS3 users have blu-ray, and consoles with decently sized HDD's if you do need the space.
     
  4. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    *as I have 3 Xbox 360s sitting under my desk that I never use...*

    >>Lol, computer gaming.

    Edit - I do want a PS3 at some point though. Not right now, can't afford it -_-
     
  5. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    If you are done with your hijacking my topic, AGAIN, let's get back to OP.
     
  6. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm pretty sure you can just install one disc at a time. When it's time to hit the next disc, uninstall the first, and install the second.
     
  7. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    this is correct. there is no need to install all three discs at once. just play disc one until you're prompted to switch to disc 2, put in disc 2, save, delete disc 1 from HDD and install disc two.
     
  8. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Thanks guys but that's what Tom Willits says but in QuakeCon Keynote 2011, Carmack states that you have to either install all discs or none, it's all or nothing.
     
  9. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    well, considering I own and have played through Rage while installing only the disc I was currently on I'd say Carmack was full of poo.
     

Share This Page