r4 not working

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by dbz5as, Jul 9, 2008.

Jul 9, 2008

r4 not working by dbz5as at 10:14 PM (3,835 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. dbz5as
    OP

    Newcomer dbz5as Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    my r4 always has been able to load my microsd card without formatting it but for the last week, i got the error message "sd/ tf card error".so i formatted the card and it deleted all of my files on it but i had a back up ( Thank god [​IMG] ).The r4 is made so that every time the ds is turned on with the r4 inside the r4 will by-pass the ds menu(where u can launch pictochat from ). Lately, it doesn't. it goes to the default ds menu, making it impossible to load my r4 now!!! it is almost like the ds cannot read the cart. How do i fix this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! oh yea i also broke my right ds hinge by opening it too fast and nintendo thought it was abuse so they refuse to fix it. Thoses nintendo bastards!! I fixed it in 2 seconds using tape but now i cannot press the r button


    this is wat i want to do with my ds now but i stopped half way beacause i made a huge dent in the wall [​IMG]
     


  2. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    you could try the paper trick, put a little bit of paper in the card slot and see if that helps
     
  3. PyroJames

    Member PyroJames GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Try turning the DS off, taking the R4 out and then putting it back in. Sometimes that works.
     
  4. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Chances are that he has does that a million times ~
     
  5. revoman

    Newcomer revoman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    You will never know.....
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do the n64 trick, blow into the slot1 and blow on the r4 contacts
     
  6. dbz5as
    OP

    Newcomer dbz5as Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    did all of does except the paper trick. Please be more in depth on how to do that(like where u put the paper and how big does it half to be0.
     
  7. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    the paper goes behind the R4 (the label side)

    just use thick enough paper to make the R4 stay in a little tighter, probably just a few layers of printer paper will work
     
  8. dbz5as
    OP

    Newcomer dbz5as Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    do i need to open the r4 and put the paper in it
     
  9. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    -.-

    Did I say put paper in it?...
     
  10. dbz5as
    OP

    Newcomer dbz5as Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    sorry im confused, where do i put the paper
     
  11. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    would it be easier if I gave you a picture?
     
  12. dbz5as
    OP

    Newcomer dbz5as Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    very much
     
  13. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    Clean R4 connectors with an eraser.
     
  14. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    like so ~

    sorry I didn't re-size it

    [​IMG]
     
  15. dbz5as
    OP

    Newcomer dbz5as Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    wow it worked
    i hope this last though

    thank u
     
  16. Sephi

    Member Sephi fool

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,850
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    It should last
     
  17. revoman

    Newcomer revoman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    You will never know.....
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never heard of tht trick [​IMG]
     
  18. biplophashan

    Newcomer biplophashan Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    it didny work for me? Y
     
  19. biplophashan

    Newcomer biplophashan Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    but it didnt work 4 me [​IMG] y
     
  20. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    o.0...how in the world did you come across a two year old thread...and why are you bumping it.
    Also, if you are having contact issues, check to make sure your mSD has good contact with the flashcart as well.

    -edit-
    Don't double post either.
     

Share This Page