Question about XMBC and the old xbox.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Xbox' started by Wabsta, Jan 24, 2010.

Jan 24, 2010
  1. Wabsta
    OP

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    My uncle has it. The original Xbox, with XBMC on it.
    And it works like a charm, perfect compatibilty, play from network, hdd, etc.

    And I'd like to have that too, so I was planning on buying a used xbox, and the softmod it and put XBMC on it.
    But, on the site of XBMC, there are lots of awesome skins etc. And the one my uncle has, looks awfull.

    So I guess he has some older build.

    My question, is it possible to install the newest build on the xbox, with those awesome skins?
    If so, can someone point me to an awesome tutorial for it?
     
  2. godsakes

    Member godsakes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can just download the skins seperately, just FTP it over to the xbox - media stream is my personal favourite
     
  3. Blake1710

    Member Blake1710 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah, you can upgrade fairly simply.

    first, i'd make sure the xbox isn't using any files related to XBMC, so load a different dashboard i guess.

    then just overwrite the old files and your done. also, i think you can get XBMC packs that include the most recent version and a whole bunch of skins. try #xbins.
     
  4. Wabsta
    OP

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Okay, great!
    Thanks for your help, gonna buy one now.
     
  5. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    xbmc is nice, but it cannot play hd content because the xbox1 cpu is not fast enough [​IMG]
     
  6. Retrievil

    Member Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, that was the deal breaker for me.

    I have 3 modded xboxes (xboxen? lol) as they all are retired because they cannot play any HD content. They are fine if you are satisfied with the regular 700mb avi rips of shows that float around, but forget about mkv or anything like that.
     
  7. Blake1710

    Member Blake1710 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  8. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    .mkv plays fine, I've watched everything on XMBC on Xbox 1, even the HD content. The newest version is great. All skins honestly look bad, especially on HD capable tvs, if your xbox doesn't have the HD cables. They sell them on ebay, but they honestly don't help.

    I'll sell you a HALO green, LED lit 500GB XBMC xbox lol.

    Wynd
     
  9. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    .mkv works, but not 720p or even 1080p.

    I just got a WD TV Live and it play everything flawless, its silent and alot smaller [​IMG]
     
  10. godsakes

    Member godsakes GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i've got my old laptop hooked up to the TV now which boots into XBMC to play my HD stuff - i still keep the xbox to play coinops (retro gamers wet dream) - i also have an xbox upstairs hooked up to a bedroom CRT tv and using homeplugs i stream SD content to it.

    you can pick them up for £10 at a car boot, they are simply amazing for their money
     

Share This Page