1. krzz

    OP krzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    France
    Hello. Here is my question:

    I got a 3DS with the 4.3 firmware.

    If I use Gateway 3DS blue card to modify the firmware of my 3DS to launch backups then I update my 3DS to 4.5, will my 3DS brick?

    Thanks you in advance.

    -krzz
     
  2. daksith

    daksith Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    1. READ THE STICKIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. Devin

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,948
    Country:
    United States
    FYI none of the 3DS Hacking stickies have the information he's asking for.

    As for an answer, I'm going with a strong no. The GW3DS Team would have given that information if it does. Just grab a newer rom, plonk it on the GW3DS and update to 4.5 that way.
     
  4. krzz

    OP krzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    France
    I know what the stickies are talking about. But the Gateway 3DS is kinda new and on some french forums people say that it is bricking their 3DS.

    I couldn't find an answer to my question on gbatemp so I am asking it in a new topic.


    Edit: Thanks Devin, but the GW3DS team is not giving so many informations about their product. So I think that it's still possible and it scares me..
     
  5. Devin

    Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,948
    Country:
    United States

    Interesting, do link the topics on the French forums?
     
  6. krzz

    OP krzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    France
  7. Saturosias

    Saturosias thank
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    United States
    All I see is him saying the same thing everyone else has said -- update [past 4.5], and your Gateway 3DS is [as good as] dead.
     
  8. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    interesting considering the people that have the card now are known and how would someone random have the information?

    Devin i will be testing this anyway so doesnt matter but shouldnt brick
    as only affects DS mode the hack install i thought
    hence why you have to install it again if you use DS Mode after applying the update
     
  9. krzz

    OP krzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    France
    An update will overwrite our 3DS actual firmware.

    If we already used the blue card on our 3DS then we update, even if it's 4.3 firmware to 4.5 it will still overwrite the blue card hack and maybe brick your console. That's why I made this topic.
     
  10. Pong20302000

    Pong20302000 making notes on everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Country:
    so your assuming something thats not going to happen

    pretty sure Gateway said it was find to use Gateway on 4.3
    load up a game such as luigi's mansion 2
    that will update the console to 4.5
    then you can play the game fine
     
  11. krzz

    OP krzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    France
    I hope you're right and I will wait for your review! :)
     
  12. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,124
    Country:
    Antarctica
    From explainations as to how the exploit is being used and from what I know. You will likely have to re-apply the gateway exploit used on the updated 3DS firmware since it basically resets the what exploit uses.

    I can't tell you if that is the case or not since I don't have one yet.
     
  13. krzz

    OP krzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    France
    > Hello.

    > Can we update from 4.0 to 4.5 with a game launch by the Gateway 3DS or do we need an original game?

    > Thanks you.


    right now you still need an original game.

    [email protected]


    Here is their answer.
     
  14. Luhof

    Luhof Quack qwack I'm a duck.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
    I wouldn't trust a lot from JVCOM's forums, unless there are real proofs...
    But as they say in this topic : let's just wait if some "halp my nantando 3DS just showz a black screen" topics pop up, and don't try to update anything without knowing what we're doing ;)

    EDIT : oh, and in this link, I think OP talks about the Gateway being bricked. In that case he isn't that wrong, since it's unuseable with >4.5 for now.
     
  15. tofast4u

    tofast4u GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    464
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a list of games that update to what firmware?
     
  16. Ris312

    Ris312 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
  17. krzz

    OP krzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    France
  18. Luhof

    Luhof Quack qwack I'm a duck.
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    France
    Oh, that's a bad point for that card. They haven't written this in any blog post... So the Gateway isn't a nice way to just update to the specific firmware we want :(
     
  19. krzz

    OP krzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    France
    Yeah I was thinking that it was possible but here is the last e-mail that I have sent to them and their answer:


    Now we have to buy a game with the 4.5 update on it, if we're not on the 4.5 firmware.
     
  20. f0rCe

    f0rCe Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Or you go to your video rental store and rent a game like dkcr for one day only! (If there is one in your hometown) ;)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Question, firmware, Gateway