Question about EZ Flash 3in1 expansion pak

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by ninjaapple, Feb 12, 2011.

Feb 12, 2011
  1. ninjaapple
    OP

    Newcomer ninjaapple Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Is the EZ Flash 3in1 expansion pak compatible with R4i SDHC RTS?

    I want to use DS linux and Opera Web Browser and have a R4i SDHC RTS and want to know if it is compatible.
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    If I'm not mistaken, it shouldn't matter which card you run the NDS file from, it matters if the homebrew supports the card as RAM -- and they should.
     
  3. Rafinesque

    Member Rafinesque GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    There are 2 versions of the card. The original version is compatible with everything that supports the 3in1. The supplier of one of the chips in the 3in1 stopped making it, and they had to substitute it with a different chip for a second generation. The second generation 3in1 has compatibility issues with lots of things. I don't know if there is a reliable way to tell which version you have....
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,815
    Country:
    Antarctica
    2 versions you say? ... thats news to me.
     
  5. avenir

    Member avenir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
    If you are lucky, YSM3 can initialize EZ 3in1 for Opera.
     
  6. Rafinesque

    Member Rafinesque GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like there are actually 3 versions, and they are not compatible with each other. The v2 and v3 is called "Plus" at stores. Software has to support each one specifically. Look here under Notes :

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/3_in_1_Expans..._for_EZ-Flash_V

    Software written for the first version doesn't work with the second version. Software had to be rewritten to support the new card, as if it was a completely different card. Some stuff was updated, some wasn't. I'm not sure if the CycloDS Evo firmware was ever updated for the new cards, for example... (it had built-in support for v1)
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,815
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sucks to be you, there are 5 versions. see the first link in my sig.
     

Share This Page