1. Afonso Mralha

    OP Afonso Mralha Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    I found a zip file on "thatisosite" with some DSiware cias, and i tryed to install them, but when i run them it just gives me an error and says to restart my 3ds, any ideas?
     
  2. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,453
    Country:
    United States
    You have to install them to sysnand using FBI with destination set to NAND.

    They still need to be installed on sysnand if you want to play them in emunand.

    A quick search in the forum would have answered this question.
     
    Ailuros27 likes this.
  3. Afonso Mralha

    OP Afonso Mralha Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    A bit dangerous don't you think?
     
  4. Apache Thunder

    Apache Thunder I have cameras in your head!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,283
    Country:
    United States
    DSiWare gets installed to TWLN section of NAND. The most harm you could do to your 3DS is brick TWL mode. Just keep a backup of TWLN and you'll be fine. :P
     
  5. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I saw in that pack of DSiWare, was a title that I have desperately been trying to convert to CIA.
    I want to know, if I install that CIA to my SysNAND, while I have a legit copy of on my EmuNAND, will it still work? I feel there might be an encryption error.
     
  6. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,453
    Country:
    United States
    I have never tried since I never bought a single DSiware before, but I have installed some and had them working in emunand by installing them to both NANDS.

    But I don't see why it wouldn't work, you can always try and delete the cia afterwards if it doesn't work anyways.
     
  7. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Trying right now. I'll tell you how it goes when I'm done. :)
     
    Tony_93 likes this.
  8. amoulton

    amoulton GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    United States
    does that mean if I unlinked my nands my legit dsiware is dead?
     
  9. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,453
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, that's what happened to Ruby...

    She has legit DSiware installed in emunand but it doesn't work because they aren't present in sysnand.
     
  10. Apache Thunder

    Apache Thunder I have cameras in your head!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,283
    Country:
    United States
    No. it just means you'd only be able to use your DSiWare on sysnand. That assumes it was emunand you formatted. You can backup sysnand first as I think the format will wipe TWLN as well. Just restore sysnand after you formatted emunand and you'll get your DSiWare back on sysnand.
     
  11. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,453
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah, I forgot you can format emunand instead to unlink them, sorry about that xd
     
  12. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I accidentally hit update mah lord almost had a heart attack again... But, it works as it should. :) :o yay. What's this " Nintendo DSI web browser.cia " ? :/ how's that even work...?
     
  13. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,453
    Country:
    United States
    Is the web browser from the DSi I guess... Someone found a way to dump system titles from the DSi long ago.

    How does it work?
    You boot it like any DSiware cia from the system menu I guess...

    Useless if you ask me...
     
  14. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Crashed, reboot, they disappeared. :o ? Also, DSI ware will not boot anymore... :/

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Instant " An error has occurred. Hold down the POWER Button to turn off the power, then turn it on and try again. "
     
  15. amoulton

    amoulton GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    United States
    So you can either have DSiWare or unlinked nands but not both?
     
  16. Apache Thunder

    Apache Thunder I have cameras in your head!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,283
    Country:
    United States
    Well you can have both. But the process would be complicated. I do have some legit DSiWare on sysnand. Sudoku was one thing I got. But my nands were already unlinked when I downloaded it. I had NNID on both emunand and sysnand while they were already unlinked. I was able to do that by manually transferring movable.sed and system save data from a 3DS I used to own to my 3DS XL. (my main motivation was to get my old Friend Code back). I got my FC back and because the old 3DS used to be on the same NNID as my current one, both nands are currently linked to my NNID while still being seperate. I simply downloaded Sudoku from eShop using the eShop spoof cia to get past the update check.

    I didn't have any DSiWare on the old 3DS at the time. If I did I would have had to redownload them. What makes them "legit" is the tickets for them stored on CTR_NAND. Unlike the DSi, tickets for DSiWare aren't stored on TWLN anymore.


    Don't just copy and paste a movable.sed from a different console to your new one though. You have to alter it first by removing some data and altering the header. If you don't have experience messing with NAND, it's probably something you shouldn't attempt. A bad movable.sed WILL brick your console. Or your emunand depending on which NAND you messed it up on. :P
     
    Last edited by Apache Thunder, Jan 11, 2016
    Ailuros27 and kiwiis like this.
  17. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    How did you accomplish this, Sir? I must know your ways.
     
  18. Apache Thunder

    Apache Thunder I have cameras in your head!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,283
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if it would be this easy to do now a days. Back then the movable.sed and system save data I migrated over was already linked, so I didn't have to go through the menus to relink it.

    In your case I think you'd have to spoof eShop update checks before you can relink an NNID to sysnand. (that CIA that does it should do the job. I forget what it was called though so you'll have to do some searching)

    It should still be possible though. Let's assume your emunand is currently linked to your NNID and your sysnand is too. But they are still linked to each other. You would have to format sysnand to unlink them. This would unlink NNID from your console. As a result your NNID on emunand would stop working. If you can spoof the update checks for eShop/NNID you can just relink sysnand after formatting it. This would also get NNID working again on emunand without you having to do anything to emunand. Whether NNID works or not is all serverside. Once you get your console relinked on Nintendo's eShop/CDN servers, your emunand's NNID will work again.
     
    Last edited by Apache Thunder, Jan 11, 2016
  19. cearp

    cearp 瓜老外
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,468
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    ruby if you use FunkyCIA you can make your own legit cia of your dsiware. :)
     
  20. Ruby Gloom

    Ruby Gloom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Not trying to sound mean, buddy. But I can't use your software.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Q]DSiWare,