PS3 Firmware 4.0 is out

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by iggloovortex, Nov 30, 2011.

Nov 30, 2011

PS3 Firmware 4.0 is out by iggloovortex at 3:31 AM (2,156 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    http://exophase.com/...or-vita-launch/

    I'm updating, are you guys? the only reason i see not to is if you're already on hacked 3.55 or if you're actually waiting on someone else who isnt math to achieve lvl0
     
  2. GameWinner

    Member GameWinner Take your heart

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    I might as well update if I'm getting a Vita.
     
  3. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Updated my Netflix PS3, haven't updated my games PS3 but I plan to. I WANTZ MAH ONLINZ
    (might get a Vita, but not quite yet)
     
  4. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    im considering waiting for the vita as well, seeing as how at launch the only game it'll most likely have is Uncharted, and developers won't really know what to do with it's touch sensitive parts lol
     
  5. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    My PS3 is updating as of right now. I plan to use my PS3 to store files from the Vita when I get it, so it doesn't make sense not to update.
     
  6. GameWinner

    Member GameWinner Take your heart

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    Did anyone else get a warning sign after the update telling you to read the safety booklet? It caught me off guard.
     
  7. Giga_Gaia

    Member Giga_Gaia Shinigami

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,281
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If you are on 3.55, don't update, otherwise it doesn't matter, since whatever exploit works on 3.73 probably works on 4.00 anyway.

    No need to wait for lv0 since what would work on 3.73 could be done on 4.00 anyway.

    Also, god, for a major firmware release, this is the most useless **** I have ever seen. The patch does nothing, are they gonna add features anytime soon?
     
  8. iggloovortex
    OP

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
  9. blahkamehameha

    Member blahkamehameha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    United States
    What are the chances for a future ofw or cfw jailbreak to be released that would be compatible with PSN? Zero to none?
     
  10. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It can possibly be available for a while, but online features are a hard thing to keep available if the other side can patch the system quite easily and disable PSN on all but latest OFW..

    Updating in the evening..


    -Qtis
     
  11. MZ EXE.

    Member MZ EXE. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Some place you won't know.
    Country:
    United States
    This update seems breaks PSP and PS3 connectivity. Can't copy PS1/Minis/Games to a PSP.
     
  12. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same problem before the update. The solution is to use Vergen to trick the PS3 into thinking the PSP is on a higher firmware than it really is.
     
  13. MZ EXE.

    Member MZ EXE. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Some place you won't know.
    Country:
    United States
    Using a PSP with 6.60 firmware. The PS3 keeps giving the message "This content is not available for use." and tells me to redownload but it doesn't do anything.
     
  14. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using official firmware or 6.60 PRO?
     
  15. MZ EXE.

    Member MZ EXE. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Some place you won't know.
    Country:
    United States
    Official firmware, I do have a CFW PSP as well but I don't use that with the PS3.
     
  16. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm that's weird. I have my PS3 on 4.0 and I can copy all my games to my PSP. Are the games expired like maybe you were a PSN Plus member and got the games free but no longer are a member?
     
  17. MZ EXE.

    Member MZ EXE. GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Some place you won't know.
    Country:
    United States
    Games aren't expired but it seems it works now I had to delete the original installed data on the PS3 and redownload a fresh one.
     
  18. sjones900

    Member sjones900 GBAtemp Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    TX
    Country:
    United States
    This is PS3 4.00? I would have thought since this technically would be considered a major update there should be some major improvements. Maybe a new UI, or improved web browser, but this... is just.. meh.
     
  19. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Stability could be one thing that this adds (not unheard of). Since the PS3 firmware isn't fully decoded and documented, not everything will happen straight away. Maybe we'll see something visible with the next update?


    -Qtis
     
  20. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    i think
    some thing major=Vita support?

    but i would think

    3.80, would of workws for this FW update
     

Share This Page