1. Gvaz

    Gvaz GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    392
    Country:
    United States
    When you say "bad disks" what do you mean?
     
  2. Ritsuki

    Ritsuki ORAORAORAORA
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,557
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Is it possible to install FreeMcBoot from a PS2 with swap trick and use the memory card on another PS2 ? I want to do this, cause my PS2 lens is broken, and I can't find somewhere to repair it for a resonable price (and I've already bought a PS3 Slim)
     
  3. playallday

    OP playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost
    Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,770
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, that would work fine. You actually aren't putting anything at all on the PS2 itself, it's all on the memory card. [​IMG]
     
  4. Nikolay

    Nikolay GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Country:
    United States
    You should add to the guide that 007 Agent Under Fire Greatest Hits doesn't work.
     
  5. Smirre

    Smirre GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    283
    Country:
    I might buy this combo to walk through best PS2 moments:
    Fat PS2
    Network Adapter
    ide hdd

    So let me get this straight. Do I need something else to play PS2 games from HDD?
     
  6. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    You need a memory card with Free MC Boot installed and a controller as well. And maybe some small usb storage to copy Open PS2 Loader to your memory card.
     
  7. Annieone23

    Annieone23 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    and unless you get a volunteer somewhere to install freemcboot then i recommend the Agent Under Fire method. worked perfectly for me, even after trying and failing the From Russia With Love method, even tho its supposedly confirmed to work.

    also i was very keen on doing hdd booting with my supposedly awesome compatibility Maxtor hdd and still that wldnt work. ps2's seem much more fickle than wii hdd booting, so i recommend being prepared to quite possibly have to do network booting (much faster and no patching but kinda a pain to set up) or ESR booting (will kill your laser faster but the only method ive gotten to work sadly)

    good luck! there are plenty of other sites out there with good support and instructions on how to softmod your ps2, unfortunately this site isnt really one of them :\ but on the plus side, ps2 modding forums are kinda deadish so come here for support! id love ta help!
     
  8. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Did you try Open PS2 Loader and HDD loader, or just one of them? I hope HDD compatibilty with Open PS2 Loader mostly depends if the connections have the correct distance, maybe in the future the compatiblity will be increased.
     
  9. Annieone23

    Annieone23 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    are you talking to me wiipower? (omg wiipower is talking to me lol >.>)

    yeah i tried openps2loader and usb advanced. open ps2 never works and ive defragged my hdd a couple hundred times and installed the games with both (sorry went on vacation names are fuzzy) but that ulloader command line installer and that spanish usb2.0 program. neither works. with usbadvanced i can get a very laggy opening cutscene of ffxii but it freezes at the menu.

    i know opl has no room for fragmented files but ive used many different defragers and installers and nothing seems to jive with it right. altho at least it shows the games are there.

    ive basically given up after days of fiddle farting around with it and ive decided to just use ESR until i can buy an ethernet cable and attempt to set up a network connection.
     
  10. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Smirre and i were talking about an internal HDD. And that's something that works great and the loading is faster than from disc. It should have startled me when you said that loading from network is faster. It is, but only faster than usb, it's like this:
    internal HDD > disc > LAN > usb
     
  11. Terminator02

    Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Country:
    United States
    those bolded links don't work anymore
     
  12. personager

    personager GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    Just three quick questions:
    1) Will this enable my PS2 to play burnt games from a different region?
    2) Will this enable my PS2 to play burnt PS1 games?
    3) This softmod will be installed in my memory card, right? So, nothing to the PS2 itself?
     
  13. xist

    xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,859
    Country:
    Yes via ESR
    No
    Correct...which means if you take out that MC then your PS2 is neutered.
     
  14. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    If you have:
    a V9 or V10 ps2(there's some security removed in these models, most likely to save production costs)[i still don't have any clue if it works on slims or not]
    a ps1 high TOC game
    and you are capable and willing to swap discs, then you can play ps1 backups:
    Insert the ps1 retail disc, let the ps2 browser identify the disc, start uLaunchELF, make it stop the drive, swap for your backup, select boot disc.
     
  15. personager

    personager GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    Alright, thanks for the answers. I'm still confused about one thing, though. Once I install this softmod, can I play burnt PS2 games directly from the get-go? I wont need to do any swap trick or anything every time I want to load the burnt game? I can just put it in the PS2, turn the PS2 on and it will load like a normal retail game, right?
     
  16. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    No, the games need to be patched so that the ps2 sees them as video dvds(ESR disc patcher) and enables reading of the disc at all. And then you boot ESR and it boots the game. I think you can configure Free McBoot to boot ESR automatically, but i prefer booting ESR manually.
     
  17. personager

    personager GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    Alright, so I did each and everything the guide says. Now, when I reach mission 2, return to the main menu and save the game, I then swap the retail disk for the burnt one. As soon as I do that, the game loads for a couple of seconds and starts playing again, but the background music of the main menu disappears .I then start mission 2 as the guide instructs, but when I do so, all I get is a black screen. I'm not exactly sure about what I'm doing wrong. Any help?
     
  18. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Hmm, do you play to play ESR patched discs later? If yes, you can patch a game you want to play, and burn it already. Then see if the ps2 browser is able to say that there's a video dvd inserted, if not, your burns are bad or your laser or both.

    Also, i don't know the guide, but be sure to swap the disc(swap = change disc without the ps2 noticing) in the correct moment. Which i hope is a moment when the drive is stopped.
     
  19. personager

    personager GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Country:
    What exactly do you mean by "the correct moment"? I have a phat PS2 so when I eject the retail disk, the game freezes. When I put the burnt disc in, it waits for a few seconds and the game starts playing again (without background music). If you mean that I should swap discs without the game freezing then I don't think that's possible because the PS2 takes time to eject the tray and put it back in
     
  20. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - softmod,