Problem with WAD Unpacker

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Mrkinator, Oct 13, 2008.

Oct 13, 2008

Problem with WAD Unpacker by Mrkinator at 9:09 PM (4,935 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    I seem to have a problem with the wad unpacker (the one included in the sticky above). It says its unpacked properly, so I go and do everything else, then use the wad packer. But when I go to install the wad w/ wad manager I get an error. I've tried different wads but the same thing happens. I know its the Unpacker, because a fellow user gave me his unpacked wad and I packed it perfectly. Am I using the Unpacker wrong? What I've done is rename the wad in.wad, clicked on the Wad unpacker.bat and it says "congrats, unpacked" or something like that.
     
  2. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
  3. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    PLEASE?!
     
  4. trent_fox

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried other unpackers? I use BFGR wadtools and haven't had any problems with it.
     
  5. 73ARM3

    Newcomer 73ARM3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe, or from my experience, different PC setups have something to do with the unpacking/packing problems.

    I was having major headaches with unpacking/packing, as one file inside the wad was coming out at the wrong size (the .trailer file at the time) and when repacked was .2KB larger than it should be.

    I tested the same process on my sons laptop which has an identical setup to my PC apart from, I am on an AMD processor and he has an Intel processor, the wad was succesfully unpacked/packed on the laptop.
     
  6. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for replying!! I'll try on a different computer to see if it's that, and I'll try BFGR wadtools when I get home.

    "(the .trailer file at the time) and when repacked was .2KB larger than it should be."
    I had that prob to except it was packing the trailer was smaller than it should have been (I had another user unpack it for me)
     
  7. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry but how exactly do I get the wadtools to work?
     
  8. trent_fox

    Member trent_fox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Put common-key.bin in the same folder, then drag your wad onto the wadunpacker.exe
     
  9. Mrkinator
    OP

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah right, thanks
     

Share This Page