Hacking Problem with my M3 - Need help

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Hey,


I recently got a M3 Simply from a mate of mine,with a 1Gb micro sd card.I downloaded games till the 1Gb was gone,so decided to buy a 2Gb.


Once i bought the 2Gb,it wouldnt allow me to use it with the M3 Simply.


When i tuen on the ds with the 2Gb in it says :

Couldnt find Ds_Menu.Dat

I got told i needed to downlad the ds_menu.dat from someone,so i did.(I downloaded 1.14 or something,from Gbatemp)


I extracted the file and moved it over to the card,but still comes up sa :

Couldnt find Ds_Menu.dat


What can i do ???

Thanks alot.
 

dice

pansy-ass ex-staff member
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
9,568
Trophies
2
Location
England
XP
1,090
I've moved the thread to a more appropriate area, that way more people with the required knowledge are likely to see this.
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Densetsu3000 said:
Did you put the SYSTEM folder directly on the root of the card?

If that doesn't work, try copying everything from your 1GB card over to your 2GB card.


Thats what i done firstly,and it didnt work,which i found really weird
wacko.gif
blink.gif
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
g6team said:
Have tried formatting your Microsd? Then be sure that all the files are placed on the Root of the card.

Heres the problem,the Micro Sd wont format on my laptop
unsure.gif
For some strange reason
wacko.gif



However,i formatted it on my Nokia phone,so would that still be ok ????

I dont know why it wont format on my laptop
frown.gif
hate2.gif
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Vulpes Abnocto said:
Are you using Windows to format the card, or the Panasonic SD formatter?

Which sort of card reader are you using?


Im using Vista..........

Card reader ? Im using my Nokia phone to transfer files,since a Micro sd fits in my nokia phone.


Have a BIG problem :

I have a 1Gb Micro Sd card that works,i transfered all files from that (Including games,and all the ds_menu files etc) onto the new 2Gb micro sd,and it still says :

couldnt find ds_menu.dat
blink.gif



So either :

My Micro sd is broke (Even though its new :S )

Or i need to format it on the pc,instead of formatting from my phone.
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
g6team said:
Ya, find a way to format it through your computer instead and see if that will get it going again.


Yeah..............


Does anyone have any ideas on how to format it ????

Thanks
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
aphirst said:
Google for the Panasonic SD Formatter, download the Vista version, and install+run that. With the MicroSD plugged in.
wink.gif


I googled Sandisk Sd Formatter (Since its a Sandisk,and not Panasonic)

And i think i found the info i needed : (Even though im on vista,not Xp,but should still work,what do you think ? )


I have Windows XP. My SD plus is showing errors, or is not working properly. Why?
Symptoms:

My SD plus is showing errors, or is not working properly. Why?

Affects: Description:
SanDisk products:
SD plus

Operating systems:
Windows XP

Hardware platform:
All PCs


Cause:

The drivers may not have installed properly

Solution:

Unplug the SD plus

Make sure the following items have been removed from the registry. Please make a backup of the registry first by going to start/run and typing Regedit and choosing ok.

On the registry menu choose export, name the file SNDK.reg and save it to your desktop

NOTE: THE BELOW MAY OR MAY NOT APPEAR UNDER ALL CONTROL SETS INCLUDING CURRENT CONTROL SET; ENTRIES SHOULD BE REMOVED FROM ALL CONTROL SETS.

NOTE: Before deleting some entries you will have to change the Permissions. You do this by highlighting the entry you want and going to the EDIT Menu and select Permissions and give everyone full control.

Once you have made a backup of the registry remove the following entries. Make sure you only delete the SanDisk information.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\DeviceClasses\{a5dcbf10-6530-…}\##?#USBSTOR#Disk&Ven_Sandisk&Prod_SD_..........

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Enum\USB\VID_0781&PID_6100

Close the Registry

Restart

When the PC has rebooted Plug the SD plus

You will see some windows about it installing new hardware. Once these have finished your card is ready to use.

Note: once you are done and all is working, you may delete SNDK.reg
 

Evilmaster1985

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
456
Trophies
0
Location
Middle of nowhere
XP
109
Country
United States
No one came back the him saying: _DS_MENU.DAT is missing.....
He clearly said he did copy _system_ folder to SD card.
But prob forgot the _DS_MENU.DAT

As you all know this is very important.
He is missing a part of his firmware causing his flashcart to show this message.

Please download the following firmware:
http://nds-help.com/wp-content/plugins/dow...nload.php?id=18

Extract the ZIP file and open the folder: English.

Copy ALL files and folders TO your ROOT of your SD card.
That should solve your problem.

Another option to fix it fast and easy:
Copy all files from you 1gb card to your 2gb card.

As for your micro SD card thats very strange it wont format on PC....
If you can write to it I hope they wont get corrupted after a bit.
Anyway just keep backing up your savegames often
smile.gif


Greetz, Vistabuser.
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Vistabuser said:
No one came back the him saying: _DS_MENU.DAT is missing.....
He clearly said he did copy _system_ folder to SD card.
But prob forgot the _DS_MENU.DAT

As you all know this is very important.
He is missing a part of his firmware causing his flashcart to show this message.

Please download the following firmware:
http://nds-help.com/wp-content/plugins/dow...nload.php?id=18

Extract the ZIP file and open the folder: English.

Copy ALL files and folders TO your ROOT of your SD card.
That should solve your problem.

Another option to fix it fast and easy:
Copy all files from you 1gb card to your 2gb card.

As for your micro SD card thats very strange it wont format on PC....
If you can write to it I hope they wont get corrupted after a bit.
Anyway just keep backing up your savegames often
smile.gif


Greetz, Vistabuser.


How do i know a file is on the Root of the micro sd ????

I copied all files from the 1Gb to my 2Gb and the same message came up
frown.gif


I looked this up on the internet,and it seems that its very hard to format a micro sd on Vista,so im trying to do it on my old pc,which is Xp.

This i really annoying now
frown.gif
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Just downloaded the Pandora Formatter,and it says "This drive is not supported"
frown.gif



This is really really annoying :S
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
Still cant do it
frown.gif
frown.gif
frown.gif


Can ANYONE help me please:(

I need this to work soon :S

How do i format it on Windows Xp ? As i have a old Xp computer.Will that be easier than on Vista ??? It seems like that from everything i read on the web
 

Kittymat

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
589
Trophies
0
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
XP
181
Country
I use panasonics formatter all the time and have no issues (running XP) I start the program and then put in the SD card and holder and it sees it straight away. If it is saying it is not supported then the card may be corrupted. I do know that people have cured this before by putting the SD card into a camera or phone - formatting it then when it is inserted into the computer it is seen and they then reformat with panasonics program. Sorry can't comment on if / how to do it with Vista don't use it.
 

ds_2009

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
11
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
hey........

I just taught,that the Panasonic formatter wont work as im using a micro sd,and not a sd

(Using my phone to connect to the pc)

I formatted it on my phone,but should it work then ???

As im still getting "Couldnt find ds menu.dat"
 

DunkrWunkah

GBAtemp's Official Dunkr
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2008
Messages
582
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
167
Country
United States
ds_2009 said:
hey........

I just taught,that the Panasonic formatter wont work as im using a micro sd,and not a sd

(Using my phone to connect to the pc)

I formatted it on my phone,but should it work then ???

As im still getting "Couldnt find ds menu.dat"

It wont really matter if you're using a microSD or not. If it does, however, buy a microSD adapter that fits into a reg. Sd card thing and use that.

And also, USE THE PANASONIC SD FORMATTER!!! It works....

ds_2009 said:
QUOTE(Vistabuser @ Jan 4 2009, 12:18 PM) No one came back the him saying: _DS_MENU.DAT is missing.....
He clearly said he did copy _system_ folder to SD card.
But prob forgot the _DS_MENU.DAT

As you all know this is very important.
He is missing a part of his firmware causing his flashcart to show this message.

Please download the following firmware:
http://nds-help.com/wp-content/plugins/dow...nload.php?id=18

Extract the ZIP file and open the folder: English.

Copy ALL files and folders TO your ROOT of your SD card.
That should solve your problem.

Another option to fix it fast and easy:
Copy all files from you 1gb card to your 2gb card.

As for your micro SD card thats very strange it wont format on PC....
If you can write to it I hope they wont get corrupted after a bit.
Anyway just keep backing up your savegames often
smile.gif


Greetz, Vistabuser.


How do i know a file is on the Root of the micro sd ????

I copied all files from the 1Gb to my 2Gb and the same message came up
frown.gif


I looked this up on the internet,and it seems that its very hard to format a micro sd on Vista,so im trying to do it on my old pc,which is Xp.

This i really annoying now
frown.gif

The root is what you see when you click on the drive.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    135357153715613756 posts by a single member in a short period of time? that seems like a task that would be better handled by a bot than a human
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    bots vs bots
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    A new staff group isn't really needed
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That can go bad say they make the new staff group and then start blaming that specific member for not keeping up with spam removal
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    @AdenTheThird, wish it wasn't the case but I unfortunately have no insight into that nor the ability to implement/change anything like that
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Global Moderators don't have that kind of config access
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Banned Spammers a dating web page for bots!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    If anything normal mods should just be brought back
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    A limit on how many threads new users can start should be put in place. Simple, non-intrusive, gives mods plenty of time to respond to spam before they can do it again.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Mod power abuse the best kind of abuse!
    +1
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    It's just becoming more and more of an issue and I don't see it stopping until preventative measures are taken.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    back
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its raining hard
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    That's not rain that's air swimming
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    wowweee someone is on a spam-spree
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    i just reported the spam bot
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    lmao okay
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They better have good customer service
  • Quincy @ Quincy:
    That is the first time I've ever seen this kind of spam on the TEMP (and I've been here for quite a few years xD)
  • rvtr @ rvtr:
    Surprising. I haven't been active for a while but a couple months ago it seemed like there was at least one spam wave per day.
    rvtr @ rvtr: Surprising. I haven't been active for a while but a couple months ago it seemed like there was...