Problem with an old dell dimension 5000

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by pspunabletohack, Oct 12, 2011.

Oct 12, 2011
  1. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ok so this one came with XP back in (2005) I upgraded it to Windows 7 Ultimate (x86) but :( if i'm playing a song it WMP or VLC, Media Player classic...
    And surfing the web ! the music stutters it didn't stutter in windows xp if someone has a fix or something like that or suggestions please tell me :(

    My specs

    - 2 GB DDR2 ram
    - 320GB Seagate HDD 7200RPM
    - 128 MB Ati Radeon x300SE (Default Clock: 324MHz) (Memory: 196Mhz) I overclocked it a little bit:
    (GPU clock: 428Mhz) (Memory: 214Mhz)
    Sound Card: SB Audigy (Creative)
    - Motherboard: Model: 0W5363 (Dell inc.)
    - CPU: Intel Pentium 4 HT @3Ghz (FSB: 800Mhz) (L2 : 1MB) (Cores: 1) (Threads: 2)

    If you need more specs than ask me !

    Thanks in advance I hope my problem will get solved :'(

    and BTW i'm using this pc as my main pc so..
     


  2. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The stutter problems could either be caused by the HDD having slow random read/write speeds or the processor struggling to handle the codec thread and the web browser thread at the same time or the 2GB of RAM being insufficient for the features offered by Windows 7 ultimate edition. It could also be from background processes slowing down the entire system or the low end graphics card struggling with Aero or drivers/codecs being outdated.

    I can't offer specific advice for old computers because most of the time I fix such computers I use my own intuition to find and fix anything causing slowdown. And they're usually running XP or older versions of Windows, not 7.
     
  4. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes maybe i'l try to reinstall k lite codec pack and yes maybe it is because of the processor but :/ it isn't even 100% when it stutters and maybe its an old computer but the speed is good enough even on Windows 7
     
  5. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    Nope deleting codecs also didn't help :/ pff I really don't wan't to go back to XP because windows 7 runs great the only thing is surfing the web and listening to music is = x.x
     
  6. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    Oke i have some more info so it should be a driver problem altrough the program says that [​IMG] look this happens when i open a page like Facebook didn't happen with XP even when the cpu was 100% hmm what driver could it be ??
     
  7. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @pspunabletohack - Use the 'Edit' button rather than making double or triple posts.
     
  8. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ok sorry
    Any suggestions ?????
     
  9. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
  10. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried following the advice in the picture? Using Device Manager to disable/re-enable the devices one by one to see if any of the hardware drivers are causing problems?
     
  11. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ok will try to to uninstall al devices and reinstall them and maybe install the audio drivers from the cd and not from windows update
     
  12. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    You need to do it one by one or else you will never find the problem driver :rolleyes:
     
  13. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    But o.O do i really need to uninstall al my usb ports that's to much to do
    Maybe i'l try to install my chipset because i didn't do that because it was already ok when i installed windows you never know
     
  14. FireGrey

    Member FireGrey Undercover Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    Country:
    Australia
    What driver are you using for your sound card?
     
  15. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    My sound card is a Sound Blaster Audigy and i have the drivers from the CD

    Leverancier: CREATIVE
    Date: 3/08/2009
    Driver Version: 5.12.1.2018

    And... i tried disabling some devices but i didn't find one that was causing the problem :(

    I Disabled my network adapter
    I Disabled my sound but the DPC Latency checker still gives me red bars
    I Disabled my Camera and my Mic nope not the problem red bars still appear
    I Disabled my Floppy Drive and my 2 DVD Drives nope red bars still appear
    I Disabled my mouse same problem :(
     
  16. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    You should have done it anyways. Try that and report back.
     
  17. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    I did didn"t fix a thing
    Any more suggestions someone told me to supspend ACPI.sys with procesexplorer System>Threads>ACPI.sys but if I try to disable that than i don't have the premissions even if i run procesexplorer as administrator :( >.> maybe i'l do a windows reinstall maybe that will help

    >.> i'm using chrome but if I use firefox the stuttering is even worse and even more red bars appear in the DPC Latency program WTF is going on :( I really want this fixend it's really annoying if anyone know a fix or something than he may even come in my computer with teamviewer -.-
    hmm maybe it's the network driver but how can i tes(t this i can't load a site with my network disabled
     
  18. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    Sorry but i really want help so 'Bump'
     
  19. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well try uninstalling the drivers of the sound card you installed from the cd . They look really old & barely support windows 7 . Just uninstall it & download the latest from the site which I think is this http://support.creative.com/downloads/download.aspx?nDownloadId=11314 .
     
  20. pspunabletohack
    OP

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
    I did already and hmm i got something ! i think it's my wireless network adapter because the red spikes only seems to be there when I load pages and do other internet stuff...
    ok i have to tell you that i have a belkin high speed mode wirelss G USB Network adpater card wich is not supported but i found a Vista driver somewhere on the net to get it work so i don't know if you guys can find a better driver ??!! the driver says '2004' that i have ATM for my network adapter
     

Share This Page