Problem with a process

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Satangel, Sep 4, 2008.

Sep 4, 2008

Problem with a process by Satangel at 6:58 PM (1,674 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    So I've just noticed my CPU usage is very high atm (around 80% all the time, not normal), and I've went to Task Manager, and I saw that a program called avm.exe uses around 30% of all the CPU.
    I googled and found that avm.exe is a dangerous file that may be spyware.
    So I want to delete it, but:
    - Whenever I end it, 1 second later it's back in my processes
    - When I try to delete it, Vista says that I don't have those permissions (while I'm admin of this PC)

    It's in C:\Users\OFFSPR~1\AppData\Local\Temp\RarSFX1 and I can't delete it.

    What should I do?
     
  2. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    EDIT : Wow, what am I on today?

    Anyhow!

    Have you tried deleting it in safe mode? You can run a program called HiJackThis and get rid of it if it is starting up somewhere.

    Or, if you want, run HiJackThis and post your log here and we can pick which ones to get rid of [​IMG]
     
  3. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    My PC is atm converting some video's, may that be the reason?
    But I've googled it, and numerous sites say it's dangerous.
    That's why I posted this question here.

    Okay, Ive made a log of HJT:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  4. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
  5. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    <!--quoteo(post=1380877:date=Sep 4 2008, 03:01 PM:name=Satangel)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Satangel @ Sep 4 2008, 03:01 PM) <a href="index.php?act=findpost&pid=1380877"><{POST_SNAPBACK}></a></div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->My PC is atm converting some video's, may that be the reason?
    But I've googled it, and numerous sites say it's dangerous.
    That's why I posted this question here.

    Okay, Ive made a log of HJT:

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    <!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
    I'm noticing a lot of "file missing" lines. Perhaps you were once infected with something and got rid of it (or program(s) were uninstall improperly [not your fault]).

    Other than that, nothing out of the ordinary except that avm.exe file. When I searched avm.exe I did see some links going to video conversion sites.

    Does it show up in your task manager just after booting into Windows (without doing anything)? Maybe your video program has a system tray icon. See if there is one there and close that, too.

    ... Then get the opensource FormatFactory for converting videos <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/smile.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":)" border="0" alt="smile.gif" />
     
  6. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I've just rebooted, checked if the avm.exe file was there, and it wasn't.
    So I guess it was indeed for video conversion.

    On the other hand, do you think these programs are enough to protect my PC?

    AVG Free (as FireWall and Virus scan)
    CCleaner
    Spybot
    Defraggler

    Tnx for the quick answers!
     
  7. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand &amp; Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes. You should realise that video conversion will ALWAYS use up your CPU to the max. I have an OC'd Q6600 and I still get it used up to 100% with my video converter.
     
  8. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Same here, got a Q6600 too, and vidéo conversion ups it too 80% minimum.

    So my protection is adequate?
     
  9. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand &amp; Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    Definitely adequate... I only have Kaspersky running on this and I've had 0 viruses (but I don't go and look at random stuff which may get me viruses), so I'm pretty safe already.
     
  10. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    What do you understand under "look at random stuff" ?
    I download occasionally, like music from FrostWire and stuff from torrents.
     
  11. Gman 101

    Member Gman 101 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Karkand &amp; Mashtuur City
    Country:
    Australia
    Stuff like porn or dodgy torrents and Limewire. Those are magnets for trojans and viruses.
     
  12. BiscuitBee

    Member BiscuitBee Semi-Resident Cookie-Bug

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Just using SpyBot doesn't really cut it these days [​IMG] Most of the spyware/malware is designed to circumvent popular programs, such as this. Same goes for Lavasoft's AdAware (which, I find, is slightly better.)

    With a silly name like SuperAntiSpyware, you would think it was... silly, but, to my surprise, it actually cleaned a lot of things! (even getting rid of a Vundo infection I had a bit ago on a friend's computer).

    While the free version doesn't include a resident checker (I think) that is always on (auto-protect) and there is no auto-update (you can update free manually), I do find the scanner to be very good.

    SuperAntiSpyware
    http://www.superantispyware.com/

    Defraggler eh? From the makers of CCleaner? I'll have to give that one a try! Looks interesting! Quid pro quo, thanks [​IMG]
     
  13. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ad-Aware doesn't work properly on Vista 64bit. It hangs at scanning.
    Else I would use it too.

    Yeah, Defraggler is from the same guys of CCleaner. Both programs are absolute must on every PC IMHO.
    Tnx for the link, I'll check that SuperAntiSpyware out.
     

Share This Page