Probably screwed up boot.ini

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Mr. Waffle, Feb 10, 2009.

Feb 10, 2009
  1. Mr. Waffle
    OP

    Member Mr. Waffle A Free Waffle

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So on my dad's laptop I think I screwed up the boot.ini
    This is because it has vista installed (I hope it still has), and it want's to boot up XP.
    Through the XP's recovery console I tried to rebuilt it (boot.ini) but it want's the admin password (To log on to C:\WINDOWS). I'm sure I know the pass because another pc has the same pass, and that worked.
    So I found on the internet that the windows 2000 recovery console didn't asked for the pass.
    I tried that one, figured out it didn't had bootcfg, googled, tried "fixboot C"or something in that direction, "J" (I first tried Y, but then I figured out I had the dutch version and it wanted J instead of Y), "enter" it said it finished.
    I restarted the laptop, still wants to boot up XP.
    So I was thinking, is it possible to boot up a OS (Ubuntu, linux?) from an USB stick and then look if it still had vista installed on C: and if it has, edit the boot.ini, but if it doesn't, backup and install XP?
    OR, is it possible to install windows XP OVER windows vista and still have all the files on C:\?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. epicelite

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Simply pop his HDD into another computer find the file then fix it up!
     
  3. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah since you have a working computer I'd do what epicelite said. It's the easiest.
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Vista doesn't have a boot.ini file it uses BCD. You can repair the bootloader for Vista by putting in the Vista disc and going to repair, there's an automated feature that will find the error and correct it.

    If you have an OEM Vista and it doesn't come with a disc, it should come with a recovery partition, which will work the same way as the Vista disc, just be careful to not erase/format the drive.
     
  5. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm thinking very hard but can't come up with the name. I know there is an alternative to the standard windows bootloader, read it in a howto when installing OSX on x86 standard hardware. It had BCD in the name btw.

    Anyway you could also install grub or whatever. Using the recovery partition is something I'd use as a last resort as that will erase whatever you have on there right now.

    edit: remembered it was called EasyBCD
     
  6. Mr. Waffle
    OP

    Member Mr. Waffle A Free Waffle

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, that would mean download vista lol, we don't have any legal windows at my home lol.
     
  7. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Btw, installing over a partition without deleting the OS already on there is possible, might even allow you to boot both [​IMG].
     
  8. epicelite

    Member epicelite Equal opportunity ass kicker.

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    No it is really easy, laptops usually have 1 screw and the HDD is held in by pressure of the door, or another screw, super simple!
     
  9. Mr. Waffle
    OP

    Member Mr. Waffle A Free Waffle

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And how do you use it? If I need to install it from under windows I'm no step further lol [​IMG]

    EDIT: I looked on the internet on how to fix the BCD, it's pretty simple, gonna search for a vista dvd this afternoon
     
  10. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously, I even told you how easy it was. You don't really need to do anything other then click buttons, it has an automated problem solver.

    You can't downgrade to XP and keep everything. You can upgrade from XP and keep stuff, but not the other way around. You can also do a repair install of Vista on top of Vista and it'll keep files.

    You never stated what kind of laptop you have. Most laptop have easy access to necessary hardware.
     
  11. Mr. Waffle
    OP

    Member Mr. Waffle A Free Waffle

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Let's say we have a really crappy laptop lol.
    Loading the Vista dvd now.

    edit: It worked =) Thank you guys, I wouldn't have come up with the idea to look if vista had a repair option lol [​IMG]
     

Share This Page