Preloader cant find hack.ini

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Valgreen, Mar 17, 2009.

Mar 17, 2009

Preloader cant find hack.ini by Valgreen at 7:59 PM (3,175 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Valgreen
    OP

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada
    Aight heres the dealeo. Had a friend who i had set up with softmii, who then accidentally upgraded to 3.4.

    I brought the wii back down to 3.2, got cioscorp back on, stupidly ran hack remover which removed hack.ini, re-ran preloader installer however, when i go to system hacks under preloader it gives me "hack.ini not found" error (cant remember exact words as im working right now).

    Wondering how i can go about getting hack.ini back on, in order to do sys menu hacks under preloader.

    Everything works fine, however i just want to make sure i have disc update blocking on.
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    put the hacks.ini in the root of the SD card
    you'll find it somewhere [​IMG]
     
  3. Valgreen
    OP

    Member Valgreen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    Canada
    i think that would be the issue [​IMG] doh sorry for the stupid question..

    thnks tj [​IMG]

    for some reason i thought hacks.ini got installed to nand or something
     
  4. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    After selecting the hacks and saving them, it will copy it to nand.
     
  5. qbert

    Newcomer qbert Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Italy
    How to sobstitue hacks.ini once it is in nand?
     
  6. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Put a new hacks.ini into the root of your SD card and boot into the preloader menu. The hacks.ini in the root of your SD card will always overwrite the older one in nand.
     
  7. Bloodlust

    Member Bloodlust GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    What happens if you put a hacks.ini not supported by your machine's region? Will it brick? I need to install 0.29 on a 4.0J machine. Will it work without a hacks.ini?
     

Share This Page