1. jupitteer

    jupitteer cum
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,047
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That's just not true. I've been dual booting Windows with Linux since my laptop came out in 2018 and that has never happened at all.
     
  2. D34DL1N3R

    D34DL1N3R Nephilim
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,621
    Country:
    United States
    Current Windows 10 desktop (although I have it set to automatically hide the taskbar):

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by D34DL1N3R, Aug 2, 2020
    alexander1970 and jupitteer like this.
  3. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United States
    I have had 3 machines where a windows update has broken my install
     
  4. jupitteer

    jupitteer cum
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,047
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Probably old systems using bios. It's largely a thing of the past with UEFI, and if it does break, a single command fixes it.
     
  5. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United States
    all 3 of those machines are 5+ years old generally the issue has to do with the update breaking grub
     
  6. jupitteer

    jupitteer cum
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,047
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yes, the update breaks grub because you're dual booting on systems whose boot systems were never designed to support booting multiple operating systems.

    BIOS booting in contrast to UEFI requires the first bytes on a disk to be dedicated specifically to boot images, and things like dual booting require a ton of overhead. GRUB is sometimes referred to as being bloated because it's basically a miniature OS to be able to support complex BIOS setups.

    UEFI was specifically designed with removing these limitations in mind, so as long as you're set up with just a single EFI system partition with both linux and windows on it, windows won't do anything to break your linux install, and you can reinstall things like systemd-boot with a single command and no fuss.
     
    ry755 likes this.
  7. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Snake™ CEO of Snakes
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,980
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I randomly got an old Dell Latitude E6540 from my sister-in-law who didn't want it anymore. So now I have a laptop that is a perfect Linux machine and I am quite happy. I am currently testing out EndeavourOS on it but I am not sure I want to keep that my main or go back to Solus. It works with literally everything, Linux, BSD, etc. so I am not really limited to what I can throw at it
    Screenshot_20200807_235150.png
     
    matpower, jupitteer, ry755 and 3 others like this.
  8. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Snake™ CEO of Snakes
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,980
    Country:
    Antarctica
    And back to Solus as my main because I realized the one thing that's truly been missing from my life has been my personal favorite Linux distro of all time, Solus.
    Screenshot from 2020-08-10 14-14-16.png
     
  9. matpower

    matpower The Mad Scientist
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    Brazil
    I wish they would get that package manager rewrite already, it is such a great distro but eopkg is holding it back.
    Plus a minimal install option, but that's not the focus of the distro :ph34r:
     
    jupitteer and Lilith Valentine like this.
  10. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Snake™ CEO of Snakes
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,980
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Same though! But there’s something about Solus that keeps bringing me back. I don’t know, but I really grew attached to the distro
     
    Last edited by Lilith Valentine, Aug 11, 2020
    matpower likes this.
  11. Boesy

    Boesy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2020
    Messages:
    516
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Photo from Andorra. Lovely country that's more or less "Mini Spain" (a lot of Portuguese and Spaniards love to visit for holidays due to being in the mountains and having a lot of snow in the winter).
     

    Attached Files:

    alexander1970 likes this.
  12. jupitteer

    jupitteer cum
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,047
    Country:
    Antarctica
    2020-08-10.png tried to hop to artix and failed, any time i want to try switching distros it doesn't work
     
  13. matpower

    matpower The Mad Scientist
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    Brazil
    So far there are only 3 distros I can reliably use for a long time: Debian (Stable with backports in "stable" hardware, or testing in new hardware), Fedora and Arch. I didn't give Solus a good go and Gentoo sounds perfect but I can't be bothered to get it up and running, so big RIP.
    [​IMG]

    And to stay on topic, my current boring desktop. I have been procrastinating into redoing my previous setup since I did another GNOME test run months ago. I kinda miss GNOME but I heavily prefer KDE apps (and I love having a Wallpaper Engine-like background). Whenever I stop being lazy, I think I'll do another ChromeOS-like design, with some minor enhancements.
     
  14. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United States
    The problem with GNOME is that everything is an add-on base GNOME has like 0 features
     
  15. jupitteer

    jupitteer cum
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1,047
    Country:
    Antarctica
    if you get really used to the keyboard shortcuts and the admittedly unintuitive workflow the gnome devs intended, it honestly doesn't need any addons
     
    matpower likes this.
  16. matpower

    matpower The Mad Scientist
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    Brazil
    The only truly essential add-on is AppIndicators IMO. As much as people say GNOME is "touch oriented", it is actually keyboard oriented. It just works outside the box if you learn how to operate it.

    But feature-wise, they move slowly. The current backend work is paying off (it is snappy and doesn't leak memory anymore), plus it has top notch Wayland support, but KDE has a more feature complete app suite and they are transparent af. GNOME's development is very closed to core developers and there is a serious "better-than-you" attitude sometimes, as a developer it puts me off, and as an user, it annoys me.

    Those points make me prefer to use Plasma instead of GNOME even if I find their workflow surprisingly good.
     
    jupitteer likes this.
  17. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United States
    Didnt GNOME just add folders as a default feature not long ago?
     
  18. matpower

    matpower The Mad Scientist
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    Brazil
    Folders in their "Launchpad"/launcher, yeah. It was an extension until 3.34 I think. I usually just type what I need in any OS with decent search functionality so I never felt it was missing.

    If you pay attention to GNOME's recent releases, they are pretty much paying for their technical debt and polishing it up. They add something small but nice here and there (like blur in the lockscreen), but it is mostly fixes. They shot themselves on their feet by throwing everything in Mutter and making it single threading, now they are fixing what they can.
     
  19. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Snake™ CEO of Snakes
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,980
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I can never really point my finger to any specific thing I don't like about Debian and Arch. For some reason, I can never find myself sticking with them for very long. It's odd because I never really find my experience with either them unpleasant or anything, I just always find myself switching away in a week. The same can't be said of Solus, which I ran for years as my main on my previous laptop. The only reason I wasn't running it is because was because it was having issues with my Nvidia GPU. I love Fedora but I don't like that the upgrade process requires rebooting the system like Windows. That's literally why I don't use Fedora.
    Also, still tweaking and working on my desktop
    Screenshot from 2020-08-11 03-32-24.png
     
    Last edited by Lilith Valentine, Aug 11, 2020
    matpower and alexander1970 like this.
  20. matpower

    matpower The Mad Scientist
    Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    Brazil
    The "reboot to update" thing is just with GNOME Software. By default, DNF does it the usual way.

    I know why they do it but it is silly nonetheless, I can manually reboot applications (or system, for kernel updates), no need to force me to do so.
     
    ry755 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - picture, desktop,