Possible problem with GBA ExpLoader 0.57

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by Ryukouki, Aug 25, 2008.

Aug 25, 2008
  1. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    Hi everyone,

    I'm having a lot of problems with my brother's GBA ExpLoader, which frequently deletes his .sav file for Fire Emblem: Fuuin no Tsurugi. I'm not sure whether it's a problem with the game itself, or the ExpLoader. I really need help since we're going on a road trip in 2 days. Here's what happens. Brother plays game. Saves. Comes back later, game save is gone. Brother gets frustrated. Starts over again. Plays for 12 hours. Goes to sleep. Wakes up, and save is gone again.

    Anyways, I was wondering if this is a problem with the GBA ExpLoader itself, or if there's some kind of setting he needs to turn on, or if there's a problem with the game. Is there any way to get his save file back? If it helps, his game gives him the options to write sram to sav file, backup whole sram to sram.bin, restore sram.bin to sram, and expansion ram.

    Thanks a ton in advance,

    shadowhunter93
     
  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    it dose help to tell use WHAT SLOT-1\Slot-2 card you are using
    also
    the Slot-2 card Battery may be Dead
     
  3. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    ummm he is currently using an m3 gba expansion pak. And what do you mean the battery is dead? i just got it 4 days ago
     
  4. Ryukouki
    OP

    Member Ryukouki See you later, guys.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4,949
    Country:
    United States
    NEW PROBLEM NEEDS SOLVING:

    My brother turned off his Fire Emblem game and told me to back it up. I do it and he turns it on to find a blank save. What is going on here? Is it a dead battery issue? If this is the case, where can i buy a new one or what do I do from here?

    Many thanks in advance,
    shadowhunter
     
  5. Jeremytus

    Newcomer Jeremytus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Australia
    Bumping an old thread, only because I'm having the same issues as this guy, except I can't load any saves at all, and as soon as I turn off my DS,open up GBAExpLoader, save and then load the SRAM, there's no save, just like starting a new game.

    No one has any ideas?

    I'm using a CycloDS evolution, btw.
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    battery is most likely dead or dying in your 3in1. no charged battery means it can't save your save state to file while you reset or it will write blank save states to file instead.

    your solution would be to get a new 3in1 or replace the battery with a fresh one.
     
  7. Jeremytus

    Newcomer Jeremytus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Australia
    Alright, thankyou.

    Is there some kind of guide that can help me change the battery in my 3in1?
     
  8. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,803
    Country:
    Antarctica
    its not a rechargable battery, and it only has a 2 year lifespan.

    there was already a topic on replacing the battery for the 3in1, you will need to look for it, use search.
     
  9. leonster

    Newcomer leonster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Korea, South
    I just JUST got a 3-in-1... figure I'm halfway computer-savvy usually, have DLDI patched ExpLoader 1.57, did all the folders the right way, using clean roms, figured out the program and how to work it on DS... and 90% of the time my saves are just gone, every time. Brand new 3-in-1. What gives? [​IMG]
     
  10. triften

    Newcomer triften Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Same problems here. I have a brand new EZ Flash V Plus with the 3in1 Expansion. I'm using GBA ExpLoader 58a. It seems that when I try to play games in PSRAM, saves become corrupted.

    Anyone?
     
  11. Angel_of_God

    Newcomer Angel_of_God Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    if im using a cyclo ds evolution does it need to be DLDI patched?And how do i access saves on NOR?
     
  12. PetMetroid

    Newcomer PetMetroid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Country:
    United States
    For almost everyone, try replacing the battery, even if it's new. I've heard from someone on Youtube that it is not uncommon for a brand new expansion pack to already have a dead battery from sitting on a shelf for so long. It's like buying a new watch; same thing happened to me when I realized the watch I bought for my girlfriend wouldn't proceed its time and needed a new battery.
     

Share This Page