Possible emmc to SD replacement for Wii u

Hi I am new to this, but I have done some research on the wiiu emmc chip and found that it might be possible to replace it with an SD card adapter. Because the wiiu operates in a 4bit mode when reading data from the emmc. Attached is the diagram. I am not an expert and I am open to suggestions and criticism. What are your thoughts.

Attachments

• emmc nand replacement.png
    emmc nand replacement.png
    1.8 MB · Views: 77
Reactions: orangy57

SDIO

Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Nice drawing, but I would use the vias near to the emmc so you don't have to desolder the old eMMC. Cutting the clk trace is enough to disable it.
Also I assume you know what decoupling cap to use, because I just guessed and probably used the wrong one.

Reactions: pulterbit

pulterbit

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks SDIO I really appreciate that, and when I was putting the sketch together I actually had no clue that you had already done it lol. BTW great job I enjoyed reading your write-up on it it was extremely informative. But the wiring diagram that I put together was all hypothetical I actually ordered all the parts to start testing this week lol. I'm just glad to see that I wasn't the first person to try this, and that it actually works.

Naendow

Brick-Master
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
This is a really weird way to determine the MLC size. This means no bigger internal storage for games without sacrificing a USB port. :/

rcpd

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
This is a really weird way to determine the MLC size. This means no bigger internal storage for games without sacrificing a USB port. :/
It isn't weird. There were only ever two versions of the Wii U made: the 8Gb version and the 32Gb version. If it isn't an 8, it must be a 32. Simple as that.

pulterbit

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States