Hacking Possible burn problem.

Talonzawa

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
54
Country
United States
I have recently softmodded my Wii, fixed it up to play backups, etc. The first ISO I burned (Tatsunoko Vs. Capcom on a Maxell DVD+RW) works fine with the occasional read error. The problem is, every other ISO I've burned after that (so far only Guilty Gear XX and Victorious Boxers) loads just fine, but play in black and white and constantly flickering or reeling vertically up and down my screen (not sure how to explain it). Is this a product of a bad burn or bad media(I'm using ativa DVD+RWs now) or is it a problem with the Wii itself?

I'm leaning towards bad media, but I just want to get input from people who might have experienced the same problem. I'm pretty new at this, as you may know by now.
 

riddle43

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2008
Messages
381
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Mich USA
XP
407
Country
United States
sounds like pal games on a ntsc wii or the other way around take a look and see
moogle.gif
 

Sharpz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
345
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
L.A California
XP
117
Country
United States
Might be the media or its as riddle said.Just so you won't be questioning if it's the media try and get DVD-R to avoid issues.If its a Pal or NTSC wii and your using a game that's not from your wii's region its a common case that the TV flickers and such.
 

BL4Z3D247

GBAtemp Stoner
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
1,942
Trophies
0
Age
38
Location
I'm so high, I don't even know!
XP
1,217
Country
United States
Talonzawa said:
I have recently softmodded my Wii, fixed it up to play backups, etc. The first ISO I burned (Tatsunoko Vs. Capcom on a Maxell DVD+RW) works fine with the occasional read error. The problem is, every other ISO I've burned after that (so far only Guilty Gear XX and Victorious Boxers) loads just fine, but play in black and white and constantly flickering or reeling vertically up and down my screen (not sure how to explain it). Is this a product of a bad burn or bad media(I'm using ativa DVD+RWs now) or is it a problem with the Wii itself?

I'm leaning towards bad media, but I just want to get input from people who might have experienced the same problem. I'm pretty new at this, as you may know by now.
ok right now there are a few different methods for running backups on a wii, what exactly are you using... either softchip loader, gamma 0.3 launcher, backup loader channel(s), CIOSCORP(loads 1:1 backups from disc channel), what method are you using?
 

digitydogs

404 Error: Member Not Found
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
1,352
Trophies
0
Location
Md,US
Website
Visit site
XP
55
Country
United States
Its a issue of pal or ntsc on a tv that doesn't support it... Your using +RW discs... BIG no no there.... switch over to plain dvd-r or dvd+R booktyped to -r. That way you will know any issues you are having aren't from using rw media, which the wii was never meant to handle, and therefore can have some very strange issues with. I see your in the US so id suggest using the backup loader to Force NTSC on one of those games and see if it comes up in color. and for the future use the region patcher on your out of region "backups" to prevent having to worry about it at all.
 

Talonzawa

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
54
Country
United States
I think it might be PAL, thanks.

Now when I enable Force PAL60, the flickering stops but it is still in black and white. Is there a way to remedy this?

Posts merged

digitydogs said:
Its a issue of pal or ntsc on a tv that doesn't support it... Your using +RW discs... BIG no no there.... switch over to plain dvd-r or dvd+R booktyped to -r. That way you will know any issues you are having aren't from using rw media, which the wii was never meant to handle, and therefore can have some very strange issues with. I see your in the US so id suggest using the backup loader to Force NTSC on one of those games and see if it comes up in color. and for the future use the region patcher on your out of region "backups" to prevent having to worry about it at all.
Yeah, I was thinking +RW might be a no no. I think I can handle it from here. Thanks.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: At least we have the cartels helping us get it on the down low