Possible Bricking?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by MrBLT, Sep 26, 2009.

Sep 26, 2009

Possible Bricking? by MrBLT at 5:26 AM (951 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. MrBLT
    OP

    Newcomer MrBLT Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi guys,

    I'm trying to fix an AceKard 2 problem for my friend. Being the guy who introduced him to the DS (with an R4), I thought that it wouldn't be hard for me to fix his AceKard2 problem.

    Anyhow, he told me this before the problem started:

    The AceKard was trying to save a game file. The system must have been frozen or something because I let the DS Lite run for a half hour, but it never responded. I shut it off (not doing the soft reboot I've researched about), and then restarted the system. I couldn't play games anymore because after AceKard 2 loads its operating system now, it freezes (I think).

    To fix the problem, I've:

    - Updated to the newest firmware
    - Problem still occurs
    - Update to unofficial firmware
    - Same as above
    - Tried inserting my R4 microSD into the AceKard2
    - Results in "system file cannot be found" error as expected.
    - Tried taking all files in folders onto the root of the MicroSD
    - Still the same problem
    - Tried using a different microSD
    - Still the same problem

    I'm stumped and I'm wondering if my friend bricked his AceKard 2? If not, what can I do to fix this?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it turns on, it isn't bricked.

    Format you're SD with the Panasonic SD formatter, download a fresh copy of AKAIO 1.5 and the latest loaders, but them on the micro SD, and see if it works.
     
  3. MrBLT
    OP

    Newcomer MrBLT Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    There's a formatter? My friend insists that he did not get a Panasonic formater with his AceKard. I'm just wondering if you could do it manually, say with Windows. I tried just straight formatting with the default options on Windows, but it doesn't work.
     
  4. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
  5. MrBLT
    OP

    Newcomer MrBLT Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    Alright, thanks for the help. I have another question. I basically ran into my friend's problem now. Everytime I change some options (ie: Enable Soft Reset), or start a new game (ones that haven't been loaded before), the AceKard freezes. It stays on "do not turn off the power". I let it stay there for an hour and nothing happens. I am NOT using the Unofficial 1.5 (it didn't seem to work for some odd reason), I am using 1.4.
     
  6. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried testing it with different microsd cards?
     
  7. MrBLT
    OP

    Newcomer MrBLT Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, and unfortunetly, I get the same problem, whether it is with SDHC or regular cards. Am I formatting the card correctly?
     
  8. MrBLT
    OP

    Newcomer MrBLT Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Canada
    Does anyone know how I can fix this problem? I've tried everything that was said above, and it just freezes during loading. Am I missing any files of any sort?
     

Share This Page