[POC][Tutorial][HANs use] How to combine updates with your game

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Queno138, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    Before we begin, very important note:

    1. This tutorial is for firmware <=9.2
      However, if you're able to get the romfs and exefs decrypted from other sites, it'll serve your purpose.
    2. The example I'm using is for Pokemon
    3. If you set HANs to a different region from your 3DS, you won't be able to connect online :(
    4. This is primarily for game-breaking patches, rather than online use.
    5. Make sure you're using the newest of newest HANs, the one that allows eshop use for uses under FW10.

    Other tutorials you'll need to refer to:

    Decrypting and extracting CIA
    Decrypting and extracting Rom


    Step 1:
    Decrypt and extract the Update CIA. (you can find it on a certain site, don't ask)
    Make sure you extract the exefs/code.bin option and get a .code.bin file. (it is gonna be around 5312 KB)

    Rename this .code.bin from the Update file as <Title ID>.code
    Example: 0011C500.code

    You're also going to need the extracted romfs folder from the update file.

    Step 2:
    Extract the romfs from the game.

    Step 3:
    Paste the romfs from the update file into the romfs of the game.
    When it prompts, replace everything.

    Step 4:
    Rebuild romfs as a single file.
    Name it as <Title ID>.romfs
    Example: 0011C500.romfs

    Step 5:
    Create a hans folder on the root of your SD card.
    (Example sd:/hans DO NOT TOUCH THE HANS FOLDER IN THE 3DS FOLDER)

    Step 6:
    Copy both the .code and .romfs file into the sd:/hans

    Step 7:
    Launch the game in HANs,
    Set the region to be same region as your 3DS
    Set the code -> SD and romfs -> SD to Yes

    Proof (of sorts)
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Enjoy!
    (such a pity, I wanted to connect to Korean Pokemon Wifi; probably won't work because Secureinfo mismatch)

    Special thanks:
    Everyone who found and exploited the exploits
    Gudenaurock's Layered FS guide that gave me the idea
    Asia81's tutorial allowed for me to do the test.
     
    Last edited by Queno138, Nov 5, 2015


  2. mrmonotone

    Newcomer mrmonotone Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried smash?
     
  3. xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

    Member xXDungeon_CrawlerXx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does it work with different DLC's, too?
    (yea, every DLC has it's own code.bin)
     
  4. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    I haven't tried but I would presume it does, since it works as a similar concept.

    Edit:
    To correct myself,
    As long as the DLCs are patches that have version numbers and accumulates (like 1.1 -> 1.2) , it presumably will work.
     
    Last edited by Queno138, Nov 4, 2015
  5. Libnihw

    Newcomer Libnihw Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Mexico
    When I tried to download the smash update in eshop spoof I get an error, could you try with the Smash update 1.1.2?, I don't have any console with cfw so the tutorial isn't for me..
     
    Last edited by Libnihw, Nov 4, 2015
  6. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    What is the error code you got?
     
  7. dannyboy941

    Newcomer dannyboy941 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Japan
    This tutorial is not for 10.x users and higer then 9.2 ....
     
    Februarysn0w likes this.
  8. Februarysn0w

    Member Februarysn0w School Idol Festival

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Mino city Osaka
    Country:
    Japan
    I'm waiting for braindump update.
     
  9. ElyosOfTheAbyss

    Member ElyosOfTheAbyss GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,191
    Country:
    Australia
    Is there a braindump update I DON'T KNOW ABOUT ????
     
  10. EmanueleBGN

    Member EmanueleBGN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    627
    Country:
    Italy
    Me too, some time ago. Seems that Smash and ORAS updates can be downloaded only with newest firmware (or in updated emuNAND).
    But if someone else have a solution, please let us know
     
  11. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    I actually used hans to download the the update on 9.0

    Thing is whether brain dump can decrypt them presently

    I have multiple 3ds on varying firmware, for different tasks
     
  12. ElyosOfTheAbyss

    Member ElyosOfTheAbyss GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,191
    Country:
    Australia
    Looks like my theory was correct. And to think that people said this method would NOT work.
     
  13. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    well it didn't work when I was combining them into a .3dz

    In for some reason, it happens to work for HANs, so maybe something was patched
     
  14. ElyosOfTheAbyss

    Member ElyosOfTheAbyss GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,191
    Country:
    Australia
    It worked for me with HANS.
     
    Queno138 likes this.
  15. Neru

    Member Neru GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    United States
    snip!
     
    Last edited by Neru, Nov 11, 2015
  16. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    I don't know how to assist you with that, as I don't use the Decrypt9 method.

    make sure your 7x key is correct as well.
     
    Last edited by Queno138, Nov 9, 2015
  17. Neru

    Member Neru GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I've done everything right. Decrypted the CIA(Update) and ROM for Smash. Now when I try to load it with 000EDF00.code, I keep getting:

    hello
    _firm appmemalloc 07c00000
    Code address 3018a000
    Code size 00aa9000
    text size 00988000
    text perm 00000001
    applied map 00000000
    invalidated icache

    How do I fix this?
     
  18. LinkmstrYT

    Member LinkmstrYT ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
    Country:
    United States
    Would love to see if DLC works. X'P
     
  19. Queno138
    OP

    Member Queno138 Ravens

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Location:
    Luigi's Dark Mansion
    Country:
    Singapore
    I think your code.bin is compressed
     
  20. Neru

    Member Neru GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    United States
    How do I decompress it?
     

Share This Page