Please Help - Totally Lost Now!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by scotty6kids, Dec 13, 2009.

Dec 13, 2009
  1. scotty6kids
    OP

    Newcomer scotty6kids Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,
    Can someone here please help me as I am in trouble.

    I have been following one of the tutorials and managed to install what I believe is bootmii. I switch the wii on and have a screen where I get a choice of 4 options, one of the system menu and one of the others is the HBC.

    Now, if I try and load up the normal system menu, I get a brief black screen following my some half blurred message about my system files being corrupt and to consult Nintendo.

    I can however load up the HBC and run games via the USB loader.

    I want to try and solve the error so that I am able to access the system menu and I also want to get one of the disk based backup loaders working as I only have an 8GB stick and loads of empty dvd's

    I feel really stupid here however I would really like so advise on what I can do?

    I am running Wii 4.2 and its a UK Pal version.

    Its a first generation Wii so one that does not have any new drive lock outs etc.

    Thanks
     
  2. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like you may just need to re-install the System Menu.

    For 4.2E, you need to install IOS70-64-v6687 and System Menu-NUS-v481

    You can do this with dop-IOS MOD or WAD Manager
     
  3. fishykipper

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    firstly yes it is bootmii you're seeing,


    secondly, sounds like some of your system files are corrupt, probably when you were installing files, either a wad or a .dol, they must had been corrupt, missing kb, probably a bad download:

    personally i would update through nintendo, you know the score, wii settings.....system update! which will put you to the max. then i'd use one of the many tutorials to either downgrade safely, or i'd just install bootmii/usbloader gx again on the newly updated system menu 4.2.


    you dont have to listen to me, but thats just personally what i would do!
     
  4. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    That's not possible at the moment, since they can't boot the System Menu.
     
  5. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    launch HBC from bootmii run dop-ios using IOS249/250 install IOS70 and then system menu 4.2 and all should be fixed
     
  6. scotty6kids
    OP

    Newcomer scotty6kids Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds like excellent advice, where do I get these two files from though?

    Thanks
     
  7. scotty6kids
    OP

    Newcomer scotty6kids Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorted - Google is my friend - downloaded the suggested wads , installed and its all sorted.

    how excellent is that.

    thanks guys - you rock.

    now, is there anything that I need to avoid doing?
     
  8. batttie

    Newcomer batttie Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I'm wondering did you by chance install Preloader on to the wii and then got this message. It happened to me yesterday when I was trying to install Preloader v.29, then afterwards got the blurry system menu corrupt. Weird thing is that after I installed Priiloader v2 it seemed to fix the problem. Didn't have to reinstall any ios. Anything similiar happen to anyone else?
     
  9. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    thats solid advice in the first response all except id be carefull doing downgrades because there are no SAFE methods WITHOUT ADVERSE EFFECTS on your boot from what ive read its a hit and miss sorta thing and i remember specificly wiipower telling me something of the downgrade effecting the ability to run boot 2 properly so while this could already be fixed and i may well be wrong (havent downgraded a wii since wiipowers advice not to though he tends to be damn proper on his wii stuff so yeah anyhow look into it before you downgrade (while i am on 3.2 and did downgrade my wii successfully from 3.4 back in the day (I also cannot use Boot 2 and RELY on preloader,starfall (starpatch on your fw) and the fact cioscorps v1 allows me to boot AUTOBOOT disk from STARFALL even WITH NO MOD CHIP....its the ONLY benifit that i dont have on 4.2....

    The long and the short....STICK WITH 4.2 THERE ARE MORE LOSSES THAN BENIFITS TO DOWNGRADING VS UPGRADING

    thats just my take on things from modding so many of these damn consoles (btw i dont use a guide i've been doing this so damn long! lol i use a tool to ID the type of wii get the resources and go to it [​IMG]
     
  10. leondmsmith

    Member leondmsmith GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dont do that, even though you cant, upgrading by Nintendo will update your Boot2 meaning bootmii would be rendered useless. Install the correct system menu wad and ios 70 as told before, you can get them from hack 4.2 in ZXZeros guide. It should then work again, you may need to reinstall preloader after that - lolz should have read entire thread first.

    Person that mentioned preloader may well be correct as that can corrupt system menus easily.

    Glad you sorted it =)
     
  11. leondmsmith

    Member leondmsmith GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What tool do you use?
     

Share This Page